Skip to main content Castleton Third Party Header

World History Subject Guide (archived): Lesson-planning resources

Resources on children's books

The Doucette Index: Teaching Ideas for Children's Books
"Provides access to books and websites that contain useful teaching suggestions related to books for children and young adults, and the creators of those books"

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
"A collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics."

Access to children's literature by subject

Children's Picture Book Database
Gives teachers, librarians, parents, and students a tool for designing literature-based thematic units for all subjects.

A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books
REF 011.62 L628a
Comprehensive guide: ~23,000 titles listed under ~1200 subjects

Curriculum resources

Annenberg Learner
Teacher professional development and classroom resources across the curriculum.  A variety of rich resources.

Coverdell World Wise Schools"Enrich K–12 students with the dynamic cross-cultural classroom materials, literature, videos, lessons, ideas, and services provided free by the World Wise Schools program."  From the Peace Corps.

The Lesson Plan Page
Includes thousands of lesson plans for K-12 teachers. Searches can be narrowed by subject and grade level; actual lesson plans are prepared by University students and faculty, and are also submitted by teachers.

Learning Page Lesson Plans (American Memory Project, Library of Congress)
"The learning page helps educators use the American Memory web site to teach about United States history and culture. It provides tips and tricks for using the American Memory collections, as well as activities, and lessons that provide context for their use. American Memory is a collection of over seven million digitized items that reflect the collective American memory, its history and culture. Primarily from the collections of the Library of Congress, it includes items in many formats such as films, manuscripts, rare documents, maps, photographs, and audio recordings." Blurb from LOC Alcove 9

OpenEd
Catalog of open ed. resources, focusing on K-12 and the Common Core.

TeachingHistory.org
"Teachinghistory.org is designed to help K–12 history teachers access resources and materials to improve U.S. history education in the classroom. With funding from the U.S. Department of Education, the Center for History and New Media (CHNM) has created Teachinghistory.org with the goal of making history content, teaching strategies, resources, and research accessible."

Big History Project is "a free, online social studies course designed for secondary schools"

Repositories and directories of open educational resources

OER Commons
Materials can be browsed by subject area, grade level, or material type. A project of ISKME, Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education.  A "comprehensive open learning network where teachers and professors (from pre-K to graduate school) can access their colleagues’ course materials, share their own, and collaborate on affecting today’s classrooms."

Jorum is UK's largest OER repository
 

MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching). See the discipline Communities linked from the homepage. Resources are reviewed and annotated.

OpenStax CMX Library
Modules: small "knowledge chunks," and collections: groups of modules structured into books or course notes.  All free to reuse.  "A dynamic non-profit digital ecosystem" started at Rice University.

Open Learn
Resources from the Open University (UK)

Open Culture
"The best free cultural & educational media on the web"

Applied Math and Science Education Repository (AMSER)

SchoolTube (like YouTube, but for schools)

TeacherTube (like YouTube, but for teachers)


Annenberg Media's Teacher Resources includes videoThis icon   indicates free video.

EXPLO.TV
Webcasts, Video Clips, and Podcasts from the Exploratorium, "The Museum of Science, Art, and Human Perception"

Learning Zone Class Clips from the BBC

Library of Congress Webcasts

PBS Video. Lots of PBS material is free for viewing online.  Browse programs or topics, or search.

Science Boot Camp – Video presentations from Science Boot Camp 2010 at the University of Massachusetts at Lowell. Topics include genetics, climate change, remote sensing.

SnagFilms.com
Professionally-produced films on a wide variety of topics

TED (Technology, Entertainment, Design): Ideas worth spreading

Video Gallery from the Getty Museum

WatchKnow. Collects “all the best free educational videos made for children” and some for parents and teachers too.

Teaching Channel

A free, online repository of over 700 professional development videos aimed at teachers or pre-service teachers in pre-K-12 from the nonprofit organization that produces the Teaching Channel Presents, a PBS program. Provides streaming professionally-produced videos on topics such as planning, student engagement, class culture, and the Common Core.

Teachers sharing with teachers

Lesson plan sharing sites

Share My Lesson
For educators to share teaching resources. Has a resource bank for Common Core State Standards. Developed by the American Federation of Teachers and Think, Educate, Share (TES) Connect, from the UK.

Teachers First
A free, advertising-free teacher resource web site with resources reviewed by teachers

Tip

Tip to locate lesson plan resources in the research databases. Use Advanced Search and:

Add the term "lesson plan*" to your search as a subject. (The asterisk means it will retrieve lesson plans and lesson planning)