Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Contains original essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the United States, with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.
The New Americans: A Guide to Immigration Since 1965
Thematic essays address such topics as immigration law and policy, refugees, unauthorized migrants, racial and ethnic identity, assimilation, nationalization, economy, politics, religion, education, and family relations. Comprehensive articles on immigration from the thirty most significant nations or regions of origin.
People on the Move: An Atlas of Migration
Atlas of Human Migration
Encyclopedia of North American Immigration
Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research
The Source: A Guidebook to American GenealogyFamilyEcho.com (free)
Other software is available, but not for free. One example is Family Tree Maker.
Crash Course in Genealogy
How to Do Everything Genealogy
Many Vermont public libraries, including the Rutland Free Library and the Castleton Free Library, offer access to Heritage Quest Online. You can get a library card from the Castleton Free Library as a Castleton student.
Heritage Quest
Genealogical research database offers a collection of family and local history books as well as the complete census from 1790 – 1930.
(You can log-in through your public library if it subscribes, or students can get a library card from the local Castleton public library)
Rutland Free Library offers access to Ancestry.com in the library only. You can sign up personally for trial access on Ancestry.com. "The world’s largest online resource for family history with more than 11 billion historical records. Sources include censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more."
Rutland Free Library provides genealogy information and access to resources at http://rutlandfree.org/genealogy/
Cyndi’s List of Genealogy Sites
Over 260,000 Web sites for the genealogist. Sites are categorized and cross-referenced by many categories. Particularly good for access to library catalogs around the world. Includes links to resources for African-Americans.
FamilySearch
Run by the the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, this site has over 2 million rolls of microfilmed original records and hundreds of thousands of books and maps. This is an online catalog for the largest genealogy library in the world. Materials that are available on microfiche and microfilm may be requested at minimal cost at local LDS family history centers.
GENUKI (Genealogy of the United Kingdom and Ireland) provides a virtual reference library of genealogical information of particular relevance to the UK and Ireland.
RootsWeb the Internet’s oldest and largest FREE genealogical community. An award winning genealogical resource. Owned by Ancestry.com. Provides searchable databases, mailing lists, message boards, family trees, and more.
USGenWeb project A volunteer project to provide Internet sites for genealogical research in every county and state of the U.S. Includes access to the USGW Digital Library transcription project and a variety of other special projects and sites.".
Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society
African-American resources from Cyndi's List
African-American Genealogy from the Enoch Pratt Free Library in Baltimore
African-American Gateway from the Allen County (Indiana) Public Library
Genealogy resources by state
Immigration History Research Center Digital Resources from the University of Minnesota. Links to archives from different immigrant ethnic groups.
Digital Public Library of America
American Family History Research Center (Ellisisland.org)
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 from Harvard University's Open Collections Program
Interdisciplinary Immigration Workshop from UC Berkeley
H-Ethnic
Provides primary and secondary sources, arranged by source and theme and links to the Bureau of the Census, Immigration and Naturalization Service, and the National Archives and Record Administration, and more
Places/Cultures
for resources on countries, regions, and cultures
In the Sea There Are Crocodiles guide
has more information on migrants and refugees
Citizen Laws of the World, based on information from the U.S. Office of Personnel Management. Possibly out of date, but a starting point. Contains links to countries' embassy websites.
Country Resources from the Migration Policy Institute: how countries manage the immigration and integration of migrants
Center for Immigration Studies
Studies the impact of immigration on the US
See the
Primary Sources tab
on this guide.
U.S. Immigration, a subset of the primary sources collected by the Internet History Sourcebook at Fordham University
Click on the title to read the book online
The Birthright Lottery: Citizenship and Global Inequality by
The vast majority of the global population acquires citizenship purely by accidental circumstances of birth. In The Birthright Lottery, Ayelet Shachar argues that birthright citizenship in an affluent society can be thought of as a form of property inheritance: that is, a valuable entitlement transmitted by law to a restricted group of recipients under conditions that perpetuate the transfer of this prerogative to their heirs.
Use the
Vermont State Colleges Online Catalog
to browse or search for books and more
in the holdings of the VSC libraries.
Here are links to some subject headings in the VSC catalog that might be useful.
