Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

HIS 2070: Vermont History: Finding articles

Resources to support Castleton students and faculty doing research on Vermont history topics

Vermont History, the journal

 

Vermont History Journal
(online access through the Vermont Historical Society website)

Castleton's library has Vermont History in bound volumes in the back periodical stacks, back to 1954.  Current and recent issues are with the current periodicals. A lot of content is available on the Vermont Historical Society website, including

Full-text from 2000 to six months ago

Selected articles, 1921-1960

Selected articles, 1961-1999

Civil War Articles

To access, use the drop down menu to choose a volume (year) (or the other options) on the right of the Vermont History website

The Vermont Historical Society Proceedings (CU holdings: 1896-1943) became the Vermont Quarterly (1944-1953), which became Vermont History.  These are all in the back periodical stacks.

Indexes
The Castleton library has indexes for 1930-42, 1943-51, 1953-77 and 1978-2002. They are shelved with the bound back periodicals.


To search within
Vermont History

 
Search the Vermont Historical Society (VHS) Library Online Catalog (a link on the left of the VHS library website). In an advanced search, you can choose "article" as the type of source, then search by author, title, keyword or subject.  Or use the custom search box below to search full-text and the indexes of the VHS's digitized issues of Vermont History. Or use the indexes with the back issues of the bound print volumes in the library.


Click on the links below to access the PDF indexes to Vermont History for the years indicated.

Castleton OneSearch

undefined
Search for articles, books and more...

Vermont Life

Newspapers

Digitized historical Vermont newspapers


Access and search digitized historical Vermont newspaper content from the Vermont Digital Newspaper Project, available at the

Library of Congress Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers 

The Rutland Herald and Burlington Free Press are included and are searchable from 1836-1922.  You can specify a state or choose an Advanced Search, and select a newspaper to search.  Includes titles from all over the state, including Bennington, St. Johnsbury, Middlebury, Brattleboro, Burlington, St. Albans, Newport, Rutland, Woodstock, and Montpelier.

Vermont newspapers dating from the 1700s through 1922 are available online for Vermont residents through the MyVermont.gov state portal. MyVermont.gov accounts are free and can be created by visiting https://secure.vermont.gov/myvermont/. Vermont residents need to make a contact and personal profile and then the link to the newspapers will appear at the top of their myvermont.gov page.  See instructions below.

You can search the Burlington Free Press from 1827 to the present in the archives on their website.  CU has access to full-text online for 1999-the present, and microfilm back to 1985.

You can search the Rutland Herald from 1794 to the present in the archives on their website.  CU has microfilm back to 1792, with some interruptions in coverage.


Castleton student newspapers 1934-present


To find newspapers held at Vermont libraries

Vermont Newspaper Project Catalog
This is a searchable index to the newspaper holdings of close to 100 newspaper repositories in Vermont.

Check the Library Catalog to see which newspapers are available here on microfilm.


Consult a librarian about accessing articles or newspapers not available through any of the above options.

Instructions to access Vermont newspapers through the Vermont.gov portal

Castleton subscription databases

Subscription research databases for finding journal articles and more

(Remote access is for the Castleton community only.  Log-in required for off-campus access.)

A bibliography

A resource for finding sources on Vermont topics:

Vermont:
A Bibliography of Its History

VT 974.3016 B294v
(in the Vermont Room)

Google Scholar

For additional sources

"From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research."

Google Scholar

To set Google Scholar to link to Castleton's journal holdings:

  1. Go into Scholar Preferences
  2. Add Castleton to your Library Links
  3. Click on Save Preferences

Or, use Castleton's Journal Holdings List to check for availability.