Reference resources on the meanings of symbols. Most are in print in the library's Reference Collection, unless otherwise indicated. Titles of print books link to more info about the resource in the library catalog.
For browsing purposes, books on symbolism are at 302.222 and books on mythology and folklore are at 398 in Reference and the stacks.
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Symbols
Ariadne's Clue: A Guide to the Symbols of Mankind
Signs and Symbols: An Illustrated Guide to their Origins and Meanings
From simple shapes and colors to gods, mythical beasts, sacred rituals, and global branding, over 2,000 signs and symbols are explained through text, illustrations, and photography. Grouped thematically and comprehensively cross-referenced. Includes the physical world, animals, plants, humans, colors, shapes, patterns, numbers, picture writing, alphabets, international signs, professional signs, brands and logos, heraldic emblems, national flags, sign languages and signals, and symbolic gestures.
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art
Signs and Symbols in Christian Art by 
1000 Symbols: What Shapes Mean in Art & Myth
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Encyclopedia of Traditional Epics
Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music and Art
Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs
Nectar and Ambrosia: An Encyclopedia of Food in World Mythology
Women's Encyclopedia of Myths and Secrets
Zoological Mythology: Or, the Legends of Animals
The Golden Bough: a Study of Magic and Religion
The Golden Bough: The Roots of Religion and Folklore
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
Accessible online. Explains and illustrates the literary symbols that we all frequently encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), and gives hundreds of cross-references and quotations. (Subscription resource. Log-in required for remote access)
Symbols in Arts, Religion and Culture: The Soul of Nature by Titles below link to catalog record for more information about the book.
Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore and Symbols
Dictionary of Symbolism
The Penguin Dictionary of Symbols
The Woman's Dictionary of Symbols and Sacred Objects
A Dictionary of Chinese SymbolsDictionary of Mythology, Folklore and Symbols
Dictionary of Nature Myths
A Dictionary of Superstitions by
Is it good or bad luck to mention a pig to a fisherman? What does it portend when you break a double-yolked egg? How many frogs do you need to cure whooping cough? Ranging from the familiar to the bizarre, and including everything from spells and omens to rituals and taboos, this delightfully informative dictionary covers a wide array of popular superstitions, touching on virtually every aspect of human culture. They embrace family life and the lore of farmers, sailors, miners, and actors; offer advice on the signs to observe when contemplating a journey or a marriage; reveal the significance of animals, plants, stones, colors, food and drink, the elements, and heavenly bodies; and outline the precautions to be taken after a death in the house or during a thunderstorm. Each entry is arranged alphabetically according to its central idea or object, and illustrated with a selection of chronologically ordered quotations that indicate the history and development of each belief. Superstitions have never before been treated in such depth or on such a scale. An entertaining volume for anyone curious about the beliefs of the past, A Dictionary of Superstitions also makes a valuable contribution to the study of folklore, providing the first systematic account of beliefs that form an integral part of our social life.
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Funk and Wagnall's Standard Dictionary of Folklore, Mythology, and Legend