It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From the independent research organization NORC at the University of Chicago. "Since 1972 GSS has been "monitoring social change and the growing complexity of American society." "The most frequently analyzed source of information in the social sciences," funded by the NSF.
From the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan. "Maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields."
Part of the nonpartisan Pew Research Center, this project "studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure...by combining original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis."
"The mission of the Roper Center is to collect, preserve, and disseminate public opinion data; to serve as a resource to help improve the practice of survey research; and to broaden the understanding of public opinion through the use of survey data in the United States and around the world."
The Marist College Institute for Public Opinion, home of The Marist Poll, is a survey research center at Marist College in Poughkeepsie, New York which regularly measures public opinion at the local, state, and national level.
Provides public opinion surveys and dataset analyses about attitudes and trends concerning important global topic, including foreign affairs, national security, terrorism, the global image of the US, and globalization and trade.
A consortium of public opinion research centers in 25 countries. See public opinion by region or topic. "Giving voice to public opinion around the world."
Polling America: An Encyclopedia of Public Opinion by Samuel J. Best; Benjamin F. Radcliff; Richard L. Clark; Kelly N. Foster
Call Number: REF 303.38 P764
Publication Date: 2020
"Provides an authoritative overview of the composition of public opinion in America, the methodologies by which public opinion is measured, and the importance of polling to U.S. politics, policy, and culture."
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods by Paul J. Lavrakas (Editor)In conjunction with top survey researchers around the world and with Nielsen Media Research serving as the corporate sponsor, the Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods presents state-of-the-art information and methodological examples from the field of survey research. Although there are other "how-to" guides and references texts on survey research, none is as comprehensive as this Encyclopedia, and none presents the material in such a focused and approachable manner. With more than 600 entries, this resource uses a Total Survey Error perspective that considers all aspects of possible survey error from a cost-benefit standpoint.
Call Number: REFERENCE 300.7203 En19
Publication Date: 2008-09-12
Naked Statistics: stripping the dread from the data by Charles WheelanOnce considered tedious, the field of statistics is rapidly evolving into a discipline Hal Varian, chief economist at Google, has actually called "sexy." From batting averages and political polls to game shows and medical research, the real-world application of statistics continues to grow by leaps and bounds. How can we catch schools that cheat on standardized tests? How does Netflix know which movies you'll like? What is causing the rising incidence of autism? As best-selling author Charles Wheelan shows us in Naked Statistics, the right data and a few well-chosen statistical tools can help us answer these questions and more. For those who slept through Stats 101, this book is a lifesaver. Wheelan strips away the arcane and technical details and focuses on the underlying intuition that drives statistical analysis. He clarifies key concepts such as inference, correlation, and regression analysis, reveals how biased or careless parties can manipulate or misrepresent data, and shows us how brilliant and creative researchers are exploiting the valuable data from natural experiments to tackle thorny questions. And in Wheelan's trademark style, there's not a dull page in sight. You'll encounter clever Schlitz Beer marketers leveraging basic probability, an International Sausage Festival illuminating the tenets of the central limit theorem, and a head-scratching choice from the famous game show Let's Make a Deal--and you'll come away with insights each time. With the wit, accessibility, and sheer fun that turned Naked Economics into a bestseller, Wheelan defies the odds yet again by bringing another essential, formerly unglamorous discipline to life.
Call Number: STACKS 519.5 W565n
Publication Date: 2013-01-07
Exit Polls: surveying the American electorate, 1972-2010 by Brian S. Krueger; Samuel J. Best (Editor)Every two years, exit polls become the most widely analyzed, written about and discussed data-set in the United States. Although exit polls are known for their use in predicting elections, they are in fact the best tool for explaining election results. Exit polls are taken from actual voters, whereas pre-election polls that tally people′s intended votes are estimated to overstate the number of people who will actually go to the polls. Exit Polls: Surveying the American Electorate is a groundbreaking new reference work that explores for the first time the trends in longitudinal variables asked in the national Election Day exit polls from their beginning in 1972 to the present. The book documents comparable survey items that have appeared in multiple exit polls over time. Authors Samuel J. Best and Brian S. Krueger - both election commentators for CBS news and statistical experts - present more than 100 tables and 100 figures showing the changes in the electorate and its voting patterns over time. This work represents the first time exit poll data has been combined over time to show trends. Offering unique insight into the American electorate, this important new work is meant to serve novice and expert researchers alike.
Call Number: STACKS 324.973092 B464e
Publication Date: 2012-02-14
Political Polling in the Digital Age: the challenge of measuring and understanding public opinion by Kirby Goidel (Editor)The 2008 presidential election provided a "perfect storm" for pollsters. A significant portion of the population had exchanged their landlines for cellphones, which made them harder to survey. Additionally, a potential Bradley effect -- in which white voters misrepresent their intentions of voting for or against a black candidate -- skewed predictions, and aggressive voter registration and mobilization campaigns by Barack Obama combined to challenge conventional understandings about how to measure and report public preferences. In the wake of these significant changes, Political Polling in the Digital Age, edited by Kirby Goidel, offers timely and insightful interpretations of the impact these trends will have on polling. In this groundbreaking collection, contributors place recent developments in public-opinion polling into a broader historical context, examine how to construct accurate meanings from public-opinion surveys, and analyze the future of public-opinion polling. Notable contributors include Mark Blumenthal, editor and publisher of Pollster.com; Anna Greenberg, a leading Democratic pollster; and Scott Keeter, director of survey research for the Pew Research Center. In an era of increasingly personalized and interactive communications, accurate political polling is more difficult and also more important. Political Polling in the Digital Age presents fresh perspectives and relevant tactics that demystify the variable world of opinion taking.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2011-05-02
About Polling & Public Opinion
Polling is an "attempt to measure public opinion by taking a survey of the views of a representative sample of the electorate; the science of opinion sampling is called psephology. Most standard polls take random samples of around a thousand voters, which give results that should be accurate to within three percentage points, 95% of the time."
From Opinion Poll. (2018). In Helicon (Ed.), The Hutchinson unabridged encyclopedia with atlas and weather guide. Abington, UK: Helicon. Retrieved from https://search-credoreference-com.castleton.idm.oclc.org/content/title/heliconhe