It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
780.7 Music education 780.9 World music 781 General principles & musical forms 782 Vocal music 783 Music for single voices; the voice 784 Instruments & instrumental ensembles 785 Ensembles with one instrument per part 786 Keyboard & other instruments 787 Stringed instruments 788 Wind instruments
The Oxford Companion to Music
The Oxford Dictionary of Music
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
The Grove Dictionary of American Music
The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers
...the most renowned freeform radio station in America. Radio has always offered the public free access to new music. The Free Music Archive is a continuation of that purpose, designed for the age of the internet."
Presents 90,000 "recordings and their associated documentation from the Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds."
Biographies, with articles, primary sources, videos, audio, and images.
Musicians and Composers of the 20th CenturyBenny Goodman, Dizzy Gillespie, Jim Morrison, Kurt Cobain...these are the people who helped shape the history of music. Their stories and others are told in Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century. This five volume set offers biographical and critical essays on over 600 musicians in just about every genre imaginable, from Accordion Players to Musical Theater Composers to World Music, and everything in between.
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of MusicA guide to the thousands of characters, who people the history of music, this volume brings together all the biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today. A companion to The New Harvard Dictionary of Music, this biographical dictionary emphasizes classical and art music, but also gives attention to jazz and blues, rock and pop, and hymns and showtunes across the ages - with care devoted to coverage of the 20th century.