Skip to main content Castleton Third Party Header

MUS 5090: Research Methods in Music Education: Journals

OneSearch and Databases

Start your search in Castleton OneSearch or one of the research databases on the home page of this guide for periodical literature and much more.

Castleton OneSearch

undefined
Search for articles, books and more...

Interlibrary loan

To Request an Article

For periodical articles not available in the library or through our databases, click on the Request through interlibrary loan link within Castleton OneSearch or a database, or use the Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form to enter information about the article (you will be prompted to login to our Interlibrary Loan System using your Portal username and password). 

Check the Journal Titles A-Z list to determine whether or not the library provides access to the journal.  If you need help with this process, contact a librarian.


For questions about interlibrary loan policies and procedures, contact Franny Ryan at (802) 468-1359.

Search Google Scholar for journal articles

Google Scholar Search

Searches "across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."

Try an advanced search.

Boost Google Scholar's usefulness by setting it to locate Castleton's subscription full-text when available. Click the three bars at the top left.  Under Settings, choose Library Links. Search and select the 3 libraries in the image below. Save your preferences.

Now, if the full-text of an article in your search results is available through Castleton, it will be indicated on the right, like this:


Or, use Castleton's Journal Holdings List to check for availability.

Journals

Some music education-related journals


Also see the Home/databases tab on this guide for more access to relevant periodical literature


American Music Teacher
(Current CU print subscription)
Search or browse, with full-text 1994-present
Subscription resource.  Log-in required for off-campus access.

In print in the library


Music Educators Journal
Search or browse, with full-text 1990-present
Subscription resource.  Log-in required for off-campus access.

In print in the library


Journal of Music Teacher Education
Search or browse, with full-text Sept. 2003-present
Subscription resource.  Log-in required for off-campus access.

Journal of Research in Music Education
Search or browse, with full-text 2001-present
Subscription resource.  Log-in required for off-campus access.


Research and Issues in Music Education
  Full-text 2003-present

Open access journal