Skip to main content Castleton Third Party Header

EDU 5100: Intro to Grad. Education and Research: Start Researching

Topics & Background Information

For background information and definitions and more, try one of these online reference resources:

Example reference ebook in Credo Reference

Castleton OneSearch

undefined
Search for articles, books and more...

Have a Citation?

If you have a citation for an article and want to locate the full-text:
 

Search within CU subscription resources

1)  Put the title or important key words into the Castleton OneSearch search box (within this guide, or the main search box on the library website).  Find the article, see if full-text is available.  If no full-text, go to step 1a.

1a) Still in OneSearch, click to search for your search terms in the ProQuest database, which is not included in OneSearch searches. Scroll down to see this icon on the left of your screen:

undefined


Clicking on that icon will run your search in the large ProQuest database, using the search terms you typed into OneSearch, in a new tab or window.  Find the article, see if full-text is provided.

 

or

2)  Search our Journals Titles A-Z for the title of the journal where the article is published. When you find the journal, click on Full Text Access.  See if the date of the journal your article is in is contained in the full-text holdings in any of the databases listed. Locate your article by issue date or by searching within that journal.


If you don't find full-text in CU subscriptions:

3)  Search using the title or important key words in Google Scholar (scholar.google.com).  Look for an HTML or PDF link in the right column.

4)  If no full-text is available, Castleton faculty, staff and students can request articles through interlibrary loan.  Access the interlibrary loan system here or through the link on the library website.  Sign in, then click on Create Request. Fill in the necessary information.  Look for a response in your Castleton email.

Google Scholar Search

About Google Scholar: "From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."


To set Google Scholar to link to Castleton's journal holdings:

  1. On the Google Scholar homepage, go into Settings in the upper right-hand corner
  2. Click on Library Links on the left
  3. Search for and click the box for Castleton
  4. Click on Save

Best Bets

Start your research in Castleton OneSearch or one of these databases:

Citing Sources