Skip to main content Castleton Third Party Header

MUS 1080: Global Music: Home

Streaming video

See  educational and documentary films on

World Music

Examples of relevant books in the Castleton library

eBooks


Published books available to read online or download. (Subscription resource. Log-in required for off-campus access.)

You can browse a list of books on music from around the world

Some resources on Asian music

Some CDs, audiocassettes and books on Asian music topics in the Castleton library


CD 25
Music from China [sound recording] Chinese Blossom Orchestra

CD 238
The heavenly orchestra of Bali [sound recording] Gamelan Semar Pegulingan Saih Pitu

CD 265
Putumayo presents Asian groove [sound recording]

Stacks 780.95 M297m
Music Cultures of the Pacific, the Near East, and Asia

Stacks 781.75982 L645j
Javanese Gamelan

 

Library catalog

Use the Castleton Library Catalog to browse or search for books and more in the holdings of the VSC libraries. These subject headings, or their subheadings, might be helpful.

Music Africa (or another geographic location)
Ethnomusicology
Folk music
World music


For browsing purposes, books on world music can be found at
780.9

Relevant websites

World music on the Internet
 

Sources of recordings
Links collected by the University of Washington Music Library

African Music Encyclopedia  

BBC Music and BBC Radio 3

Ethnomusicology organizations and institutions
Links collected by the University of Washington Music Library

Global Jukebox
Presents a variety of audio, visual, and written materials created by and around renowned ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax. Lomax traveled and made recording across large sections of the US, Europe, and the Caribbean, including songs, speech, dance, and other expressive culture.

Global music archive
Features a Digital Collection of East African Recordings

LANIC: Music (Latin American Network Information Center at Univ. of Texas)

Music India online

Putumayo World Music

Regional Music Resources from the Latin American Network Information Center

Cultural heritage projects/Digitized recordings

Digitized audio collections

World and Traditional Music
Digitized recordings, from the British Library

Europeana Collections: Music
"Opening the gateway to Europe’s sound and music heritage."

Radio

 

Radio Station World is a global radio station directory

Find radio stations by location on Radio Garden

About regions/places

See the
places/cultures
resources on the Global Studies guide

World music instruments

Key reference sources

Ethnomusicology Musical Instrument Collection from the University of Washington.  Includes audio and video.

A relevant online journal

Transcultural Music Review
(some articles are in English, some in Spanish)

Some resources on European music

Musics of the Soviet Union
Audiocassette 189

Putumayo Presents Rumba Flamenco
CD 272

Putumayo Presents Celtic Tides
CD 286