Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

ENG 2010: Expository and Argumentative Writing: Problem/Solution

Guidance for research for students in Castleton's Expository and Argumentative Writing course

Sources for both sides of debates

The International Debate Education Association

has a "Debatabase" of topics

Pros and cons of controversial issues
 

Red Blue Dictionary

From AllSides.com. Shows how people from across the political spectrum define, think or feel differently about the same term or issue. Provides multi-perspective analysis of controversial terms, from "abortion" to "Zionism."

Statistics for the U.S. and states, counties and more

From the U.S. Census Bureau:

Subscription source for streaming video

Searching all library resources

undefined
Search for articles, books and more...

Research databases

Suggested subscription databases

Broad range of topics, with full-text. Helpful for background information.


Suggested subject-specific databases

Multidisciplinary databases

Examples of persuasive writing

Some sources of persuasive writing

 

Lend Me Your Ears: Great Speeches in History (REF 808.85 Sa17L and Stacks 808.85 Sa17L)

Find text, audio and video of speeches at American Rhetoric.com's Online Speech Bank

Find books containing speeches to analyze in the VSC Online Catalog. Browse the titles under the subject heading of Speeches, addresses, etc.

Look at the Viewpoints essays in Opposing Viewpoints In Context. Find a topic of interest by browsing or searching and click on the Viewpoints tab on the left.

In ProQuest Central, in an Advanced Search, you can check Editorial for Document type (includes the New York Times)

In Academic Search Premier, in an Advanced Search, you can limit Document Type to Editorial or Speech.

In New York Times Historical, in an Advanced Search, choose Editorial for Document type. Or use the drop-down menu to choose “Section,” and type op-ed in the search box. In another search box, add another search term.

E-Reference

Search or browse over 900 published academic reference books, available online.

Example published essays

Click on the headline to read these articles that are real-world examples of a problem/solution essay.

Ask a Librarian