LibGuides: Elections Guide: Elections

Guide Overview

This research guide features resources related to elections and voting. Use the tabs to explore resources and links related to elections, voter registration, and the 2020 U.S. elections.

Other Relevant Guides

Election Resources

ElectionGuide.org
"Provided by the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES), an international nonprofit dedicated to strengthening electoral democracy."
Elections Guide
From the University of Michigan's Libraries. Research Guide to Elections.
Factcheck.org
"A nonpartisan, nonprofit 'consumer advocate' for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics."
iSideWith.com
Take quizzes to help determine which candidates align with your beliefs.
Project Vote Smart
Includes Voting Records, Biographical & Contact Information, Issue Positions (Political Courage Test), Interest Group Ratings, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances for "every candidate and elected official from President to local government".
U.S. Elections Project
From George Mason University. Its mission is "to provide timely and accurate election statistics, electoral laws, research reports, and other useful information regarding the U. S. electoral system...to inform the people of the U.S. on how their electoral system works, how it may be improved, and how they can participate in it."
U.S. Electoral College
From the U.S. National Archives.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on hot topics and newsworthy issues.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Pro/con viewpoints, articles, audio and video on hot topics and social issues.

See recent books in the CU library on campaigns and elections

The Annotated U.S. Constitution and Declaration of Independence by Jack N. Rakove, ed.
Publication Date: 2009
Citizens in Action: A Guide to Influencing Government by Stephanie Vance
Call Number: 323.042 V277c
Publication Date: 2009
The Democracy Index: Why Our Election System is Failing and How to Fix Itt by Heather K. Gerken; Alda Merini
Call Number: 324.60973 G315d
Publication Date: 2009
The Good Citizen: A History of American Civic Life by Michael Schudson
Call Number: 323.60973 Sch78g
Publication Date: 1998

EBSCO ebooks on campaigns and elections
E-books on elections and campaigns from the EBSCO Collection.

Race Appeal: How Candidates Invoke Race in U.S. Political Campaigns by Charlton D. McIlwain; Stephen M. Caliendo
Publication Date: 2011
Public Financing in American Elections by Costas Panagopoulos
Publication Date: 2011
Conventional Wisdom and American Elections: Exploding Myths, Exploring Misconceptions by Jody C. Baumgartner; Peter L. Francia
Publication Date: 2010
Parties and Elections in America by Louis Sandy Maisel; Mark D. Brewer
Publication Date: 2009

American Presidency Project (APP)
Non-profit and non-partisan, includes over 118,000 documents.
America Votes: Presidential Campaign Memorabilia
From the Duke University Special Collections Library.
Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
Contains current and historical data about presidential, gubernatorial, and senatorial elections.
LOC's Government, Law & Politics Digital Collections
The Library of Congress has excellent collections of digitized primary source materials.
Voting America: United States Politics, 1840 - 2008
From the Digital Scholarship Lab at the University of Richmond. "Voting America examines long-term patterns in presidential election politics in the United States from the 1840s to today as well as some patterns in recent congressional election politics. The project offers a wide spectrum of animated and interactive visualizations of how Americans voted in elections over the past 168 years. You can also find expert analysis and commentary videos that discuss some of the most interesting and significant trends in American political history."