Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

Education Subject Guide (archived): Special Education

Resources for research in the field of education

Encyclopedias and dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities
REF 371.903 T847e

Dictionary of Special Education and Rehabilitation
REF 371.903 V586d

Transitions for youth wiki

Transition Learning Community Wiki

From the Vermont Agency of Education and Voc Rehab. Covering transition planning for youth with disabilities and more..

Resources

Bookshare.org
An online library for people with print disabilities.

About this page

This page serves to highlight information resources pertaining to special education and learning differences

Using the VSC catalog


 

Use the Castleton Library Catalog to search for books and more in the libraries of the VSC system.

Some relevant subject headings

  • Special education
  • Special education Law and legislation United States
  • Learning disabilities
  • Learning
  • Cognition
  • Neuropsychology
  • Neurosciences
  • Children with disabilities
  • Children with disabilities--education law and legislation United States
  • Exceptional children
  • Developmental disabilities
  • Developmental disorders


For browsing:

344 Law

344.0791  Education of specific groups of students (law relating to)

344.730791  Federal special education law

371 Schools and their activities

371.9 Special education

371.904 General topics of special education
371.908 Groups of people

371.90973 Disabled people--education--United States
371.91 Students with physical disabilities
371.92 Students with mental disabilities
371.93 Delinquent and problem students
371.94 Students with emotional disturbances
371.95 Gifted students

Subject headings

Relevant subject terms to try in the research databases

  • individual differences
  • special education -- law & legislation

Search strategies


Example Boolean search


Notice the parentheses around the or phrase and the truncation

child* and (television or TV or television viewing) and violen*

Handbook

Associations and organizations



Includes: CAST: Center for Applied Special Technology
 
Resources for learning about and implementing Universal Design for Learning


LD OnLine, "the educator's guide to learning disabilities and ADHD," "seeks to help children and adults reach their full potential by providing accurate and up-to-date information and advice about learning disabilities and ADHD."


Research Corporation's Center on Instruction: Special Education

Vermont

Government resources

Universal Design


(graphic from UDL-Universe website)

UDL-Universe: A Comprehensive Universal Design for Learning Faculty Development Guide

"UDL-U supports postsecondary faculty and staff by providing resources and examples to improve postsecondary education for all students, including those with disabilities."

Handbooks of research

Handbook of Psychological and Educational Assessment of Children: Intelligence & Achievement
REF 155.4 R333h

SAGE Handbook of Special Education
REF 371.9 Sa18

Handbook of Special and Remedial Education: Research and Practice
REF 371.90973 H191

Handbook of Reading Disability Research
REF 371.9144 H191

Handbook of Learning Disabilities
REF 371.926 H191

International Handbook of Giftedness and Talent
REF 371.95 In854

Handbook of Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders
REF 618.9285882 H191 (2 volumes)

Also see a more complete list of handbooks of research on the Reference sources tab on this guide