LibGuides: ECO 2120: U.S. Economic History: Recommended Resources

No Full Text?

Databases do not always provide direct access to the full-text of articles. In those cases:

• Click on the Where can I get this button, , or Full Text Finder button, , under the article you want. A new window (or tab) will appear and if we have it online, you can follow the links to the article.

• If we don't have it online, search our Journal A-Z list for the journal title (not the article title) to see if we have it in print.

• If we don't have the article, the Request this item through interlibrary loan button will be located below the article - click that button to request that we can get you a copy of the article from another library.

Find Sources beyond Castleton

Castleton OneSearch automatically limits your searches to books and articles we own. To broaden your searches outside of Castleton, uncheck the box next to Available in Library Collection under Limit To on the left side of the Castleton OneSearch results.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan is a free service that allows you access to books and articles from other libraries. If you are searching Castleton OneSearch or one of our databases and we don't own an article, you will be taken to an interlibrary loan request form by clicking on the Where can I get this? or Request this item through interlibrary loan button.

If you have an article citation and have checked the Journal A-Z list to confirm that we don't have access to the article online or in print, you can place an interlibrary loan request via our Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form (you will be prompted to login to our Interlibrary Loan System using your Portal username and password).

If you have a book citation or want to search for books or DVDs outside of the Vermont State Colleges system, search WorldCat for the item, click on Request Item through Interlibrary Loan and complete the form (you will be prompted to login to our Interlibrary Loan System using your Portal username and password).

Article requests usually arrive within 2 to 3 business days, while books and DVDs can take one week.

Recommended Resources

Library research databases:

U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Primary sources, articles, encyclopedias, audio and video on American history topics.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II & III This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.
Articles less than 1 year old are usually not available.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals on most topics.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles from magazines and scholarly journals on most topics.
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of articles from major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers. Formerly InfoTrac Newsstand.
Includes the New York Times from 1985 to current.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Magazine and journal articles covering all areas of business.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on hot topics and newsworthy issues.

Relevant Journals:

Click on or use Search within this publication: to search for articles are your topic.

American Economic Review
1911 to 2 years ago
Economic History Review
1965 to 1 year ago
more...less...
1927-2008 available in JSTOR
The Economist
Magazine covering business and economics.
The Journal of Economic History
2001 to 1 year ago
more...less...
1941-2008 available in JSTOR
Journal of Economic Issues
1967 to 1 year ago
more...less...
The library has current issues in print.

Credo Reference
Electronic access to the full text of 100 selected reference books, from a variety of academic publishers.
Economics Articles from American Decades
Economics topic overviews from the American Decades publications. Choose a decade and click on Business and the Economy.
EH.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History
Designed to provide students and laymen with high quality reference articles in the field. Articles for the Online Encyclopedia are written by experts, screened by a group of authorities, and carefully edited.

Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History
Publication Date: 2015
Designed to answer such key questions as: How has the U.S. Constitution shaped the economy of the United States? What were the consequences of Prohibition on consumers' behavior? This title presents 1,000 entries, era overviews, event/movement profiles, biographies, business/industry profiled, geographic profiles, and more.
Poverty and the Government in America: A Historical Encyclopedia
Publication Date: 2009
Poverty in the United States by Gwendolyn Mink (Editor); Alice M. O'Connor (Editor)
Call Number: Reference 339.46097303 P869 (2 volumes)
Publication Date: 2004-11-22
300 A-Z entries on topics related to poverty and social welfare, including the political discovery of poverty, antipoverty policies, and debates about legislation.
Working Americans, 1880-2012
Call Number: Reference 305.5 D445w v.1
Publication Date: 2012

Browse or search Films On Demand's Business & Economics Video Collection and History Collection.

U.S. Economic History Playlist
Sample playlist of films related to U.S. Economic History.

Bureau of Economic Analysist
Department of Commerce
Department of the Treasury
FedStats This is a government sponsored gateway site to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
List of U.S. Economic History websites
From the Library of Congress, a list of internet resources for the teaching and study of economic history. Includes links to collections with primary sources.