It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Designed to provide students and laymen with high quality reference articles in the field. Articles for the Online Encyclopedia are written by experts, screened by a group of authorities, and carefully edited.
The Economics Book (Big Ideas Simply Explained) by Niall Kishtainy, ed.From Aristotle and Thomas Aquinas, to Adam Smith and John Maynard Keynes, to the top economic thought leaders of today, The Economics Book is the essential reference for students and anyone else with an interest in how economies work. Easy-to-follow graphics, succinct quotations, and thoroughly accessible text throw light on the applications of economics, making them relatable through everyday examples and concerns. Employing DK's trademark visual approach, The Economics Book takes a frequently confusing subject and makes sense of it, clearly highlighting both historically important and emerging ideas in this critical field of science.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2012
The Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behaviour by Alan Lewis (Editor)Psychologists have been observing and interpreting economic behaviour for at least fifty years, and the last decade, in particular, has seen an escalated interest in the interface between psychology and economics. The Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behaviour is a valuable reference resource dedicated to improving our understanding of the economic mind and economic behaviour. Employing empirical methods - including laboratory experiments, field experiments, observations, questionnaires and interviews - the Handbook covers aspects of theory and method, financial and consumer behaviour, the environment and biological perspectives. With contributions from distinguished scholars from a variety of countries and backgrounds, the Handbook is an important step forward in the improvement of communications between the disciplines of psychology and economics. It will appeal to academic researchers and graduates in economic psychology and behavioural economics.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2008
The Penguin Dictionary of Economics by Graham Bannock; R. E. Baxter; Evan DavisWhether you want to follow the economic discussions in the media today, or study economics or need some knowledge of it at work (in business, finance or the public sector), this wide-ranging and accessible dictionary explains a host of economic terms, from acceleration principleto X-efficiency, i>globalizationto venture capital, and from Euroto zero-sum game. Revised and updated for its seventh edition, The Penguin Dictionary of Economicsis detailed, practical and international. Its entries include- General economic terms Economic theory, including coverage of development economics, industrial organization, finance and game theory, as well as international monetary and welfare economics Coverage of applied economics and major financial institutions History of economics Entries on individual economists who have made a definable contribution to contemporary economic thought
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2004
When integrating sources into your own work, you want to:
Accurately represent those sources
Use them to support your own ideas and arguments
"In most cases, your best bet is to know your material well enough that you can set a source aside and write about its ideas in your own words. Otherwise, you run the risk of simply compiling a data dump or creating a patchwork of quotations. When you can sum up the gist of a source - its main point - instead of quoting from it excessively, that will save your reader time and will demonstrate that you really know the material. It will also leave more room for you to put your own stamp on the ideas you are writing about." From Getting Started - a Guide to How the Library Works: Using Sources.
Articles from scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.
Articles less than 1 year old are usually not available.
Selecting and evaluating sources is about credibility - the credibility of the authors of the sources and your own credibility. Consider the quality of the source, whether the author is trustworthy on that topic, and what the source offers (does it offer facts? an opinion? a new idea?).