Video from North Carolina State University Libraries.
See Credo Reference's Mind Map tool for your topic to visualize relationships among concepts and learn related keywords, with definitions of terms at your finger tips.
Encyclopedias and other background resources are in Reference, or you can check out books from the Stacks to read later.
Our library uses the Dewey Decimal System. This system assigns numbers to books based on subject, so that similar books can be grouped together. The hundred's place is the most general, and each additional digit gets to a more specific sub-topic. For example:
600 = Technology and applied sciences
610 = Medicine
617 = Surgery and related medical specialties
617.1027 = Sports medicine
Find the numbers that correspond to your interests and see what's on those shelves! If you aren't familiar with Dewey, click the link below for a breakdown of numbers and their topics.
Current issues are on display so you can browse covers, or look at a stack of one magazine that covers an area of interest.
For fresh ideas, see what's in the news.
National news sources:
State and local news sources:
Encyclopedias are a great source of background information. They can also be very useful when picking a topic. Look through the entries or table of contents and see what catches your eye.
Here are a few examples:
All of these resources list topics to browse and link to full-text resources on these topics.
Tip: You can Browse Issues in CQ Researcher. Click on a broad topic to see the list of subtopics. Reports include links to further sources.
Browse particular magazines or journals you know of that cover the kinds of topics you are interested in. You can browse and read some magazines and journals online.
To find one of interest, you can browse an alphabetical list or search for a title or subject
See if your magazine is included in a database. In the image below, for example, we can see that Communication: Journalism Education Today is available in the database Education Research Complete. Click on the title of a database, and you can browse the journal by date or search within it.