Skip to main content Castleton Third Party Header

Citing Sources: Citation tools

This guide is to help Castleton students understand the process of documenting research for college assignments

Free online bibliographic management systems

[zoh-TAIR-oh]

Zotero started as a free Firefox extension.  You can download extensions and plugins for Firefox, Chrome, Safari and Edge from the Zotero website.  There is now also  a standalone version that can be used with other browsers, and a web version that can be used on shared computers, like ones in the library or campus computer labs. If you are using Zotero on a public or shared computer, restart when you are done to avoid anyone making changes to your collections.

See documentation, including a Quickstart guideMore help is available on this guide or this guide.



Easy Bib is a free online bibliography and citation tool.  Many subscription databases export directly to EasyBib.  You can search within EasyBib for books or articles you want to cite.  You can paste in citations.  Offers an app that allows you to scan the barcode of a book to collect its citation.  New free individual EasyBib accounts support MLA style only.  Learn more about individual EasyBib subscriptions.

See the page on this guide for more information about EasyBib.


EndNote Web is another free online tool. Very helpful documentation is available.  Can include attached documents. Can export to other citation managers. Can export directly from VSC Online Catalog to EndNoteWeb.  Can export directly from EBSCO databases, for others: generate an .ris file.


Mendeley is another free tool, which is more than a citation manager.  You can search within it, and use it to store documents. You can sync your desktop files with Mendeley Web.

See documentation, including help guides, video tutorials or a very helpful "get started" guide from UC Berkeley

To use, you make an account, download “Mendeley desktop,” and install “Mendeley Web Importer” (works like a bookmark; when you click on it, it grabs citation info from webpage). See How to install “web importer.”

To export from subscription databases, choose "Reference Manager." Exports as an .ris file.  If you have Mendeley installed, click on the RIS file and Mendeley will open up.

For tablets and mobile devices: Mendeley for iOS (You can access your citations and links and add PDFs to your account). No Android app yet.

Citation generators

Other simple citation generators

Also see ways to gather pre-formatted citations from library subscription resources

PowerNotes

Tutorial:  Learn to use PowerNotes for collecting info about sources and creating an outline

One project is free. You can pay for an account to have more than one project at once.

EasyBib within Google Docs

     

If you are using Google Docs, you can add-on EasyBib's bibliography creator.

Open Google Docs.  Under Add-ons-->Choose Get add-ons-->find and select EasyBib, click on +Free to add

When using Google Docs: Add-ons-->EasyBib Bibliography Creator-->Manage Biblography

Search for the book, journal article, or website you want to cite, than add it to your document.

Ask a Librarian

       

 

 

When Castleton librarians are unavailable, you may be chatting with a librarian from another academic institution.