LibGuides: Childhood Studies Topic Guide: Home

Related journals

For a more comprehensive list: see the list of scholarly journals on the Rutgers Dept. of Childhood Studies website

Journals in CU subscription databases

Journal of Childhood Studies

Journal of Child and Family Studies

Journal of the History of Childhood and Youth

Some relevant books

Some relevant books in the Castleton library

Childhood in World History
Call Number: Stacks 305.2309 St31c
Contents: Introduction : childhood in world history -- Childhood in agricultural societies -- Childhood in the classical civilizations -- Childhood in postclassical world history : the impact of religious change -- Contacts and contrasts in the postclassical world -- Forces of change and the modern model of childhood : developments in the west, eighteenth century to 1914 -- Alongside the modern model : the pressures of colonialism -- Modern childhood in Asia : Japan adapts the new model -- Childhood and communist revolutions -- Childhood in the affluent societies, twentieth and twenty-1st centuries -- The dislocations in the twentieth and twenty-1st centuries : children face war and violence -- Globalization and childhoods -- The dilemma of children's happiness -- Conclusion : childhoods from past toward future.
Scholarly Resources for Children and Childhood Studies: A Research Guide and Annotated Bibliography
Call Number: Stacks 305.23072 Sch64
Publication Date: 2007
Click for table of contents
Reinventing Childhood after World War II
Call Number: Stacks 305.23 R277
Contents: The child-centered family? New rules in postwar America / Paula S. Fass -- Liberation and caretaking: fighting over children's rights in postwar America / Michael Grossberg -- The changing face of children's culture / Steven Mintz -- Ten is the new fourteen: age compression and "real" childhood / Stephen Lassonde -- Whose child? Parenting and custody in the postwar period / Mary Ann Mason -- Children, the state, and the American dream / Kriste Lindenmeyer -- Children and the Swedish welfare state: from different to similar / Bengt Sandin.
Children and Youth During the Civil War Era
Call Number: Stacks 973.7083 C437
An Introduction to Childhood: Anthropological Perspectives on Children's Lives
Call Number: Stacks 305.231 M766i
Contents: Childhood within anthropology -- What is a child? -- The beginning of childhood -- Family, friends, and peers -- Talking, playing, and working -- Discipline, punishment, and abuse -- Children and sexuality -- Adolescence and initiation.
The Incomplete Child: An Intellectual Hstory of Learning Disabilities
Call Number: Stacks 618.9285889 D211i
Contents: Introduction -- A biological holism of brain injury : the science of Kurt Goldstein -- Building the Strauss Syndrome at the Wayne County Training School -- "A new perception of things" : movement education and Newell C. Kephart -- Diagnosing and treating psycholinguistic deficiencies : the practical science of Samuel A. Kirk -- "One definition doesn't include everything" : Samuel A. Kirk and the learning disability concept -- Country movement and city children : agrarianism in movement education -- Epilogue : a science in transition.
From Father's Property to Children's Rights: the History of Child Custody in the United States
Call Number: Stacks 346.73017 M381f
Contents: 1. Fathers/masters: children/servants: child custody in the colonial era -- 2. From fathers' rights to mothers' love: the transformation of child custody law in the first century of the new republic, 1790-1890 -- 3. The State as superparent: the progressive era, 1890-1920 -- 4. In the best interest of the child? 1960-1990 -- 5. The ascendancy of the social sciences.
The Material Child: Growing Up in Consumer Culture
Call Number: Stacks 305.230973 B856m
Children of a New World: Society, Culture and Globalization
Call Number: Stacks 305.230973 F264c
Contents: Introduction: Children in society, culture, and the world -- Immigration and education in the United States -- The IQ : a cultural and historical framework -- Creating new identities : youth and ethnicity in New York City high schools in the 1930s and 1940s -- Making and remaking an event : the Leopold and Loeb case in American culture -- A sign of family disorder? : changing representations of parental kidnapping -- Bringing it home : children, technology, and family in the post-World War II world -- Children and globalization -- Children in global migrations -- Children of a new world.
American Childhoods
Call Number: Stacks 305.230973 IL613a
Contents: American Indian childhood -- European American childhood -- African American childhood -- Urban middle-class childhood -- Urban working-class childhood -- Suburban childhood-- Inner-city and rural childhoods.
Learning from the Past: Historical Voices in Early Childhood Education
Call Number: Stacks 372.21 W832L
Contents: Plato -- John Amos Comenius -- Jean-Jacques Rousseau -- Johann Heinrich Pestalozzi -- Friedrich Wilhelm August Froebel -- Robert Owen -- John Dewey -- Maria Montessori -- Patty Smith Hill -- Caroline Pratt -- Lucy Sprague Mitchell -- Epilogue. Missing and found : the voices of early childhood -- Historical figures : general references for further study.

Conversation among scholars

H-Childhood is an edited electronic network focused on the history of childhood and youth. Subscriptions to H-Childhood are free.

Associations, organizations, institutes

Rutgers-Camden Center for Children and Childhood Studies

The Society for the Study of Childhood in the Past (UK)

Children and Youth in History, from the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University and the University of Missouri–Kansas City, "designed to help teachers and students learn about the important roles of young people throughout history by providing access to information about the lived experiences of children and youth from multiple perspectives as well as changing notions about childhood and adolescence in past cultures and civilizations." Includes primary sources and resources for teachers.

A documentary

Other relevant guides from the CU library

eBooks

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of ebooks to read online or download.

Sampling of ebooks on childhood studies in the EBSCO ebook collection

Some relevant reference ebooks

The World of Child Labor: An Historical and Regional Survey
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development "Comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting.

Encyclopedia articles

Childhood
2700 word entry, plus references
Child Nurture
3700 word entry, plus references

Childhood
From the online Encyclopedia of American Studies from Johns Hopkins University.