LibGuides: Careers & Post-Graduation Planning: Psychology careers

OOH on Psychologists

From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

"The profiles featured cover hundreds of occupations and describe What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the 2010–20 decade."

Careers related to psychology

Community and Social Service Occupations

Psychologists

Books

See books in the CU library catalog on psychology careers

Some examples:

Applying to Graduate School in Psychology: Advice from Successful Students and Prominent Psychologists
Call Number: Stacks 150.711 Ap58
Shares personal accounts from both peer and expert perspectives to illustrate the ins and outs of applying and preparing for the graduate school experience.
The Psychology Major's Handbook by Tara L. Kuther
Call Number: Stacks 150.711 K969p
Publication Date: 2011
Click on the title for a significant preview of a newer edition of the book. Offers undergraduate students the information they need to make informed decisions about whether to pursue psychology as a major and career, as well as guidance to help them succeed as psychology majors.
Career Paths in Psychology: Where Your Degree Can Take You by Robert J. Sternberg
Call Number: Stacks 150.23 C18
Publication Date: 2006
Click on title for table of contents. "The chapters describe 30 different graduate-level careers for those holding a PhD, EdD, or PsyD in three distinct areas of endeavor: academia, clinical and counseling psychology, and specialized settings such as for-profit businesses, nonprofits, the military, and schools. Each chapter explores a different career, including typical daily activities, the approximate range of compensation, advantages and disadvantages of the career, opportunities for employment and advancement, and how to plan one's educational and professional experiences to prepare for this specialty."
The Insider's Guide to the Psychology Major: Everything you Need to Know about the Degree and Profession by Amira Rezec Wegenek; William Buskist
Call Number: Stacks 150.711 W421i
Publication Date: 2010
Why should you major in psychology? --
Finding your path: tapping into valuable resources --
How do you become a psychologist? --
What jobs can you attain with a Bachelor's degree in psychology? --
Graduate school --
Getting "real-world" psychology-related experience --
Psychology careers in research and practice --

Professional Associations

Career resources from professional associations

American Psychogical Association

PsyCareers website

Includes Career Development Resources

National Association of Social Workers (NASW)

Social Work Career Center

Portal

Online Psychology Career Center

Part of the larger Social Psychology Network site, maintained by Scott Plous of Wesleyan University, "designed to be a one- stop resource for psychology students and professionals" (site). It includes job listings, tips, advice, FAQs, and more.

Current issues in the field

Access tables of contents and abstracts of APA-published journals to learn about current topics in the field. For any journal, Click on "View Table of Contents and Online First Publication."

For full-text, check the Journal Titles A-Z list, or try putting the title of an article into OneSearch (above or on library website).

Or see the psychology journals the library subscribes to in print or in these databases to understand current issues being researched and discussed.

Human Resources resources

To learn about workplace issues in general

Society for Human Resource Management

Some relevant journals are available full-text online through Castleton subscription databases.

You can browse by date, or search within individual journals.

Some examples:

Through Business Source Premier

Journal of Human Resources
HR Focus
HR Magazine
TD: Talent Development

Through other databases

Workforce Management through ProQuest Central
Human Resource Development Quarterly and Human Resource Development Review through ProQuest Central

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles in behavioral science and mental health.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals covering psychology and related topics.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Articles from academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.

Directories of grad programs

Peterson's Graduate Schools

Search by school name, major, location, or other keywords. Includes online programs.

Peterson's Graduate & Professional Programs
REF 378.73 P442 (6 volumes), including these:

Humanities, arts, and social sciences
Biological/biomedical sciences, & health-related medical professions
Business, education, information studies, law & social work.

Career exploration and general resources

Peterson's Career Prep This link opens in a new window
Career assessments prompt personalized career recommendations and guidance on programs, knowledge, skills, and ability. Search for open jobs opportunities and create visually interesting résumés and cover letters.

An online tool for career exploration

You can conduct a self-assessment, explore job titles and industries, prepare or update a resumé, read tips and advice, participate in an interview simulation, view job listings, and more.

Subscription resource through the Vermont Dept. of Libraries. Castleton students can use their VSC log-in. Vermont residents can log-in through their public libraries.

Career exploration tool from the U.S. Dept. of Labor. Search, browse by industry, or answer questions to be matched with career areas.

To learn about occupations:

O*Net

Detailed descriptions of occupations, from the U.S. Dept. of Labor, informed by surveys of workers

Other resources

Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals and magazines focusing on careers, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.