Skip to main content Castleton Third Party Header

Careers & Post-Graduation Planning: Specific careers

Resources for learning more about careers and other next steps for Castleton University students

Online resources for career areas

Legal careers resources, including Castleton's articulation with Vermont Law School

Pre-Med resources from the Castleton library


Green careers

See the Careers tab on the library's Environmental Studies subject guide


STEM

Sloan Career Cornerstone Center has resources on careers in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and medicine 

Science Career Support from the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Career planning for science careers from Nature Education

ATETV: Advanced Technological Education Television
Web-based video series showcases "advanced technology" disciplines, including Information Technology, Engineering, Agricultural Technology, Process Technology, and Rapid Prototyping/Manufacturing.


Sociology and Social Work and Social Research

The American Sociological Society's website for students has a section on Careers in Sociology

Social Work Career Center from the NASW

Pursuing a career in social research from the Roper Center


The Arts

The website for the American Institute of Graphic Arts includes job and internship listings and Graphic Design:  A Career Guide

National Association for Music Education's website has a Career Center.


Military and International Affairs

Military Careers from the Occupational Outlook Handbook

Career Futures from the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs (NPSIA).  Descriptions of various careers in international affairs, lists of related job titles, and examples of actual positions held by NPSIA graduates.

Careers from the U.S. Department of State.  "Careers Representing America"


Business and Finance

efinance.com: job listings in finance, banking, accounting, and technology

DiscoverBusiness.com includes ads for specific programs, but has a good amount of useful into too.


Museums

Career development resources for museum careers on the American Alliance for Museums


Healthcare

Virtual Career Network: Healthcare from the U.S. Dept. of Labor, Employment and Training Administration and the American Association of Community Colleges


Libraries

For library careersLibraryCareers.org from the American Library Association and Career Development from the San Jose State Univ. School of Library & Information Science.  Also see Education and Careers.  Information from the American Library Association.


Political Science

Careers in political science from the American Political Science Association


Psychology

American Psychogical Association's PsyCareers website has Career Development Resources

See books in the CU library on psychology careers


Theater

See the Careers page on the library's Theater subject guide


Explore Careers from Moneygeek.com

Government resources

CareerOneStop from the U.S. Department of Labor.  Especially see the Explore Careers section.

Occupational Outlook HandbookYou can browse an index or search for any career.  Provides information for hundreds of careers on

  • the training and education needed
  • earnings
  • expected job prospects
  • what workers do on the job
  • working conditions

 




Working in Canada, from the Government of Canada


Some books about government jobs:

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Look up info on specific careers in the online  

Occupational Outlook Handbook.

For hundreds of different types of jobs, the Occupational Outlook Handbook tells you:

  • the training and education needed
  • earnings
  • expected job prospects
  • what workers do on the job
  • working conditions

In addition, the Handbook gives you job search tips, links to information about the job market in each State, and more.

Published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, the OOH is revised every two years.

Magazines/Journals

Vocations and Careers Collections
Access to trade journals from various occupations, like Advertising Age, American Artist, Broadcasting and Cable, Computer World

Browse titles and read them online

Books on specific careers in the library

Also see the ebooks to the right


Reference


Top 100 Computer and Technical Careers: Your Complete Guidebook to Major Jobs in Many Fields at all Training Levels

REF 004.023 F24t

Careers in Communications and Entertainment 
REF 302.23023 M724c

Career Opportunities in Politics, Government, and Activism
REF 320.023 Ax22c

Social Work Career Development: A Handbook for Job Hunting and Career Planning
REF 361.3202373 D672s

Career Opportunities in Law Enforcement, Security, and Protective Services
REF 363.2023 Ec41c

Careers Opportunities in Radio
REF 384.54023 F458c

Career Opportunities in Science
REF 502.3 Ec41c

Caring for the World: A Guidebook to Global Health Opportunities
REF 610.69 C191

Career Opportunities in the Energy Industry
REF 621.042023 T218c

Career Opportunities in Theater and the Performing Arts
REF 791.023 F458c

Entertainment Power Players:  The Premier Fashion, Film, Music, Sports, & TV Directory
REF 791.0257 St45e


Circulating books


Careers for Computer Buffs & Other Technological Types

Stacks 004.023 Eb39c

Museum Careers: A Practical Guide for Students and Novices
Stacks 069.023 Sch36m

Career Paths in Psychology: Where Your Degree Can TakeYou
Stacks 150.23 C18

The Insider's Guide to the Psychology Major: Everything You Need to Know About the Degree and Profession
Stacks 150.711 W421i 

What Anthropologists Do
Stacks 306.023 St81w

Careers for Mystery Buffs & Other Snoops and Sleuths
Stacks 331.702 C144c

Careers for People on the Move & Other Road Warriors
Stacks 331.702 Eb39c

Careers for Night Owls & Other Insomniacs
Stacks 331.702 M615cn

Careers for Nature Lovers & Other Outdoor Types
Stacks 333.72023 M615c

Jobs That Matter:  Find a Stable, Fulfilling Career in Public Service
Stacks 351.73023 K864j

Careers in Criminal Justice and Related Fields: From Internship to Promotion 
Stacks 363.2023 H235c

Careers for Environmental Types & Others Who Respect the Earth
Stacks 363.70023 F266c

Careers for Bookworms & Other Literary Types
Stacks 381.45002023 Eb39c

Careers for Foreign Language Aficionados & Other Multilingual Types
Stacks 402.3 Se35c

So, You Want to Be a Scientist?
Stacks 502.3 Sch95s

Great Jobs for Geology Majors
Stacks 550.23 C144g

Career Opportunities in the Energy Industry
Stacks 621.042023 T218c

Great Jobs for History Majors
Stacks 650.14 D363g

Idea Industry: How to Crack the Advertising Career Code
Stacks 659.1023 Id2

The Artist's Guide:  How to Make a Living Doing What You Love
702.3 B321a

Art/Work: Everything You Need to Know (And Do) as You Pursue Your Art Career
Stacks 702.3 B469a

The Musician's Handbook: A Practical Guide to Understanding the Music Business
780.23 B644m

Comprehensive Guide to Careers in Sports
Stacks 796.023 W846c

Entrance exam help

(Through Rutland Free Library). Learning Express Library's Career Center has resources including e-books and practice exams for occupation exams.

For teachers

For resources for pre-service teachers and teaching career planning, see the
Teacher preparation tab
on the Castleton library's Education subject guide.

Books on specific careers to read online


(Subscription resources. Log-in required for off-campus access)

Look for a book on a career of interest to you to read online or download

Below are only a few examples of the dozens of books on specific careers in Castleton's ebook collection through EBSCO. 

You can also browse a list of books on specific careers, or you can search Castleton's ebook collection.


Click on a title below to read the book online. 

Careers in Foreign Languages

Careers in Art: Fine Artist