LibGuides: Careers & Post-Graduation Planning: Internships

Vermont State College Online Job and Internship Fair

Image Preview Sign in here: www.vsc.edu/job-internship-fair/ to review the list of employers interested in connecting with you!

New employers will be added weekly.

Visit the list at your convenience, review opportunities that interest you, and reach out to employers.

Open through May 31^st.

Career Services Spring Workshops and Events

CoolWorks

Coolworks.com features a database of jobs in the U.S. Includes jobs in the National Parks, resorts, amusement parks, camps, and ranches. Provides jobs by state, a job map and more.

Outdoor/leadership programs

National Outdoor Leadership School (NOLS)
Learn wilderness and leadership skills

Outward Bound
Adventure-based wilderness programs

Resources at Castleton

For career development support and jobs please contact:
Renee Beaupre-White
Director of Career Services
(802) 468-1339
renee.beauprewhite@castleton.edu

For internship and experiential learning support please contact:

Jessica Duncan

Director of Experiential Learning and Workplace Readiness

Internship Program Coordinator

(802) 468- 1244

jessica.duncan@castleton.edu

Listings: Internships, part-time/full-time/summer jobs

Stay at Castleton over the summer

Student positions at Castleton

International opportunities

Summer jobs abroad from Transitions Abroad

Volunteer Abroad “The Portal for Volunteer Work, Service and Vacations Overseas” from Transitions Abroad

Volunteers for Peace
A non-profit founded in 1982 offering over 3000 voluntary service opportunities around the world.

Volunteer Abroad from Go Abroad.com

Research opportunities

Science summer internships

Pathways to Science from the Institute for Broadening Participation offers a searchable database of summer research opportunities. Searchable by by institution, disciplinary categories, and geography.

Research Experiences for Undergraduates from the National Science Foundation. Groups of 10 or so undergraduates work in a research program of a host institution. Pays a stipend.

Undergraduate Internship Program Vermont EPSCoR Adaptation to Climate Change. 10 weeks. Paid. (Deadline to apply: early February)

At these campuses

Johnson State College in Johnson
Saint Michael's College in Colchester
University of Vermont in Burlington
Lyndon State College in Lyndon
Middlebury College in Middlebury
Castleton University in Castleton

In these areas

Lake and Stream Ecology
Climatology
Water Chemistry & Microbiology
Soil Nutrients
Land Use Management
Environmental Policy & Management
Computer Programming

AmGen Scholars program
Sponsored by the Amgen Foundation. "Allows undergraduates from across the globe to participate in cutting-edge research opportunities at world-class institutions. 17 leading institutions across the U.S., Europe and Japan currently host the summer program."

Books on volunteer/service opportunities

Alternatives to the Peace Corps: A Guide to Global Volunteer Opportunities
Call Number: REF 361.37025 AL79
Volunteer Vacations Across America by Sheryl Kayne
Call Number: REF 361.37025 K184v
Publication Date: 2009
Green Volunteers: The World Guide to Voluntary Work in Nature Conservation
Call Number: REF 333.72025 G827
Caring for the World: A Guidebook to Global Health Opportunities
Call Number: Stacks 610.69 C191
World Volunteers: The World Guide to Humanitarian and Development Volunteering
Call Number: REF 361.37025 W893

Spring Internships

More job listings

Also see the Job hunting tab on this guide for access to more job listings

National Parks and Vermont Parks

	National Park Service: Jobs for Students

	Vermont State Parks: Employment/Internships

Federal government jobs

Opportunities for internships and entry level jobs in the federal government, part of USAJobs

Farming internships

Sustainable farming internship and apprenticeship listings
From ATTRA, The National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service

Work abroad

Work Your Way Around the World
Call Number: REF 650.14 G875w

Theater opportunities

Career resources in theater
on CU library theater course guide

Summer Professional Theatre Companies
List with links to company websites

Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE) Job Bank, choose Internship for "Type of Position" when you search

Summer Theatre Directory
REF 792.02 Su64
Print directory to summer employment at summer theatres and training programs. Also: theme parks, renaissance fairs, outdoor drama, cruise lines.

Spring 2022 Internship Opportunities

For more information please contact Jessica Duncan at Jessica.Duncan@castleton edu or 802-468-1244

Come Alive Outside: Administrative Assistant Internship
more...less...
Position Description:
The Administrative Assistant Intern works closely with the Executive Director to support grant submissions, fundraising endeavors and programming initiatives, including:
• Conducting in-person paper surveys in downtown Rutland at various locations
• Collecting, organize, do online data entry, and create data summary with electronic and paper surveys.
• Assisting with mailing of annual reports/acknowledgements
• Assisting with preparation/mailing of Leaf Peeping Society Fundraising Event
• Assisting with preparation/mailing of Leaf Peeping Society and other office admin projects
• Assisting with administrative projects, fund development, and program support

Education and Experience:
• College student seeking a degree in non-profit, business, public relations and/or health and wellness related fields. Successful experience working in a collaborative work environment to complete supportive goals.
Required Knowledge, Skills, and Abilities:
• Great people skills including the ability to inspire others to be excited about an idea.
• Well-organized and ability to manage a project from start to finish.
• Self-starter and the ability to formulate and implement solutions to problems.
• Passion for spending time in the great outdoors and helping others live healthier lives.
Writer/Journalist Internship (Remote)
more...less...
The Borgen Project is an innovative, national campaign that is working to make poverty a focus of U.S. foreign policy. This is a 12-week, part-time, unpaid internship. However, if your availability is limited, you can work ahead and complete the program in fewer weeks.

The selected candidate will be able to work from home and pick their own schedule, but must meet weekly deadlines. Articles submitted will appear on BORGEN Magazine or The Borgen Project Blog.

– Write one article per week.
– Research topics.
– Assist with advocacy efforts.
– Assist with fundraising. Create a personal fundraising campaign and meet targets.

Qualifications: Strong research and writing skills. Must be able to work independently and meet deadlines with very little supervision. Experience writing SEO friendly content is helpful, but not required.

Start Date: New programs begin every month, you choose the month you wish to start.

We respond to every applicant within 14 days. Please check your spam folder for our emails and if nothing has been received, please email us at hr@borgenproject.org

The Borgen Project

http://borgenproject.org

From CNN to The Huffington Post, the world is talking about the innovative movement that is downsizing global poverty. The Borgen Project believes that leaders of the most powerful nation on earth should be doing more to address global poverty. The national campaign is working to make poverty a focus of U.S. foreign policy.

Equal Opportunity Employer: Yes

Salary

Unpaid

Type of Job

Internship, Part Time

Job Location

Remote

Expiration Date

01/30/2022

Name:

Kelly Hall

Address:

708 Broadway, Suite 201, Tacoma, WA 98402

Phone:

253-433-7118

Email:

hr@borgenproject.org

To apply, please email your resume and two writing samples to hr@borgenproject.org.
Fox Run Golf Course Internship
more...less...
Position Description:
The greenkeeper position at Fox Run Golf Club is an hourly position from April 1- October 31st depending on weather. This position requires extensive walking and standing for up to 8 hours a day. Strong candidates will have an eye for detail, willingness to be coached and learn new tasks, and a desire to be a part of a team that produces world-class golf conditions. Greenkeepers are required to work early morning hours and scheduled weekend morning shifts regardless of weather conditions (cold, heat, rain, snow etc.) Opportunities for education, training, and advancement exist for exceptional employees

Primary Duties:

Walk-mows tees, approaches, greens, and surround areas
Hand rakes bunkers and completes other associated bunker maintenance
Operates all course equipment including line trimmers, backpack blowers, walk mowers, riding mowers, tractors and other specialty equipment (Rollers, Aerifiers etc.)
Reports any equipment issues immediately
Follows all club policies and safety procedures
Cleans all equipment after use and takes pride in keeping a clean shop
Completes course set-up tasks including but not limited to moving cutting pins, moving tee markers, filling water stations, cleaning course bathrooms, filing divots etc.
Takes direction from both Golf Course Superintendent and Assistant Superintendent
Assists in Irrigation repairs
Maintains landscaped areas including use of all hand tools
Assists in Capital improvement projects including construction and renovation
Completes any other necessary tasks to ensure the success of our team'
'COVID-19 Precaution(s):
Remote interview process
Personal protective equipment provided or required
Social distancing guidelines in place
Sanitizing, disinfecting, or cleaning procedures in place.
Karr Group: Hospitality Food/Beverage Internship
more...less...
Position Description:
Killington, Vermont's largest hospitality management company—the Karr Group—is offering an exciting opportunity for students looking to gain real-world culinary and food & beverage experience to position themselves for a career in the hospitality or food and beverage industry upon graduation.

A position with the Karr Group provides an experience that can’t be found anywhere else. You will acquire first-hand knowledge and experience of what it takes to be a leader in a multi-restaurant organization. Our properties include an events-driven bar and nightclub, casual dining restaurant, and upscale dining restaurant.

While you are learning about the skills associated with managing the front-of-house (FOH) and back-of-house (BOH) areas, you will also learn about:
- Leadership
- Hospitality
- Safety and Certifications
- Training
- Purchasing
- Inventory
- Scheduling

To be successful in this role, you should:
- Provide excellent customer service
- Be able to anticipate guests’ needs
- Have the ability to learn, understand, and explain menus and daily specials
- Take part in pre-service duties and closing duties
- Demonstrate a passion for details and a willingness to learn
- Have a working knowledge of point-of-sale (POS) systems
- Uphold hospitality standards to ensure a memorable guest experience
- Maintain a safe, sanitary, and organized work environment
- Be available to work nights, weekends, and holidays

As a team member at the Karr Group, you will receive:
- Excellent discounts at Karr Group establishments
- Discounted ski, mountain bike, and golf passes
- Employee referral bonus program
- Company-sponsored recreational opportunities
- Discounts at participating businesses partners including restaurants and ski/snowboard shops
- Free or discounted entry to The Pickle Barrel Nightclub

The Karr Group properties include the Pickle Barrel Nightclub, JAX Food & Games, The Foundry at Summit Pond, Mad Hatter's Scoops, Charity’s 1887 Saloon, and The Waterwheel Trading Post.

We are an equal opportunity employer that does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, or age.
Maximize Your Talent: Marketing Specialist Internship
more...less...
Position Description:
The Marketing Specialist will assist with several marketing efforts of the business development department including but not limited to: social media, email marketing, brand partnerships, outreach, and communications. For the right candidate, there is potential for this role to grow into a part-time or full-time employee position with more responsibility granted with achievements.

Duties and Responsibilities:
• Social Media Marketing
• Email Marketing
• Outreach and Communications
• Brand Partnerships
• Website, SEO, Google Analytics, Ads, blogs, and more

Required Skills/Abilities:
• Excellent verbal and written communication skills.
• Experience, interest, and knowledge in all or most of the duties & responsibilities listed above (willing to take time to train the right person)
• Excellent time management skills with a proven ability to meet deadlines.
• Proficient with Microsoft Office Suite or related software.
• Working knowledge or ability to learn platforms such as Canva, Hubspot, Squarespace, Google Drive, Gmail, Buffer, iMovie, and Photoshop
Middletown Springs Historical Society: Museum Collections Management Internship
more...less...
Position Description:
Assists Collections Management Committee in care of objects in the collection, including acquisition work (record-keeping, entry into Past Perfect database); cleaning, conserving, re-housing & shelving; house-keeping; recording environmental data; etc.
Required Knowledge, Skills, and Abilities:
Interest in history, museum work, database management
Brief Description of Organization:
MSHS is a 501(c)(3) non-profit founded in 1969, member of the Vermont Historical Society, Vermont League of Local Historical Societies, and New England Museum Association. The organization is all- volunteer with a Board of Trustees and seven operating committees. MSHS owns and maintains the Mineral Springs Park and the Adams House, the MSHS building, a c. 1800 former residence, commercial building, and formerTown Community House. Collections include antique farm equipment manufactured by A.W.Gray & Sons (1845- 1918), family histories and genealogies, photographs, diaries, letters, paintings, furniture, clothing and textiles, domestic articles, tools, etc. relating to Middletown and Middletown Springs.
Compensation: Paid by way of a $1,500 grant stipend. Grant stipend contingent on application and successful completion of paperwork.
REclaimedED Makerspace Internship
more...less...
Position Description:
The REclaimED Makerspace & Skills Center in Poultney, VT is seeking an intern with an interest in developing hands-on, practical skills in the areas of craftwork (wood, metal, fabric, and more), business, and/or youth education. The ideal candidate will commit to working with the startup non-profit weekly to help develop its programs in a shared learning experience. The Makerspace team is dedicated to supporting the intern’s individual skill set and academic interest area within our shared learning environment. Expectations are to perform duties and shop management as assigned, but we are committed to fostering the interns unique interests where able.

Compensation: Paid by way of a $1,500 grant stipend. Grant stipend contingent on application and successful completion of paperwork.
Rutland Young Professionals: Marketing, Events, and Special Projects Internship
more...less...
Position Description:

The role of the Marketing, Events, and Special Projects Intern is to support Rutland Young Professionals, its president, and committee chairs to move the organization’s mission of “engaging with our community, creating social and professional networking opportunities, and working to build a Rutland area that attracts and retains young professionals” forward. The ideal student would have a strong working knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, graphic design, social media platforms, and strong writing skills, Candidates should be flexible and able to work well under pressure and deadlines, and be able to work independently as well as part of a team.
Responsibilities:
• Assists with the planning and production of events and general organizations materials
• Curates content for social media
• Write and edit press releases, blogs, newsletters, and other content as requested.
• Researches, plans, and implements programming and outreach to Castleton students and relational business
• Helps plan and coordinate RYP events including monthly Mixes and Meet0Upds
• Maintains membership database and conduct member outreach in conjunctions with marketing and membership committee/chairs.
• Assists with administrative duties including mailings, emails, preparing board packets, and other administrative functions as assigned
• Attend RYP Board of Directors Committee meetings (as able)
This position reports directly to the President of Rutland Young Professionals and will be located on Castleton University’s campus in Woodruff Hall.
Compensation: Paid by way of a $1,500 grant stipend. Grant stipend contingent on application and successful completion of paperwork.
Taps Tavern: Restaurant Manager Internship
more...less...
Position Description:
Seeking a motivated individual interested in a career in Food & Beverage or Restaurant Management after graduation. This 12-week program will provide hands on learning in a busy, restaurant environment. The intern will work directly with the owner and managers, training in various front of house and back of house roles to fully understand the day to day operations. There is ample opportunity to increase food and beverage knowledge, train on steps of service, learn about regional craft beers, bartending, menu planning, staffing, scheduling, ordering, food preparation, etc.

Qualifications:
• Student is a junior or senior working towards a degree in Business Management or Resort & Hospitality Management at Castleton University
• Must be able to commit to working 12 weeks at the restaurant over the course of the semester
• Candidate will be hospitable in nature, poses strong communication skills, and attention to detail
• The ability to adapt to a fast-paced work environment
• Willing to train and rotate through various hands on roles in the restaurant, both in front and back of house

Compensation: Weekly stipend
Tata Harper Skincare: Digital Marketing Internship
more...less...
Position Description:
The Digital Marketing intern will assist in the day-to-day operations of a fast-paced office that embraces teamwork. This individual will work closely to support both marketing and client experience from pre-sale ideation to post-sale execution. This position will assist in digital marketing analytics, focused primarily in Email Marketing, through data collection, analysis, and weekly/ biweekly performance reporting. Attention to detail and presentation skills is a must. This position will also assist in market research and current beauty/lifestyle trends, learning how to shape our email and SMS presence, assisting with D2C activations & photoshoots, and supporting the marketing team through digital storytelling and reporting presentation. Additionally, the digital intern will have the opportunity to gain industry experience and surround themselves with all the inner-workings of a fast-paced, rapidly growing global beauty company.

Duties and Responsibilities:
• Assist Digital Marketing Team
• Support the Email & SMS Marketing Manager with weekly & biweekly performance reporting
• Complete daily updates of digital marketing calendar
• Keep track of company promotions and email updates
• Create cohesive weekly email reporting presentations
• Help with collection of data from previous ad campaigns and preparing decks
• Market research on competitive brand campaigns
• Assist with in-house photo shoots
• Assist with D2C activations
• General office tasks and operations
Town of Poultney: Communications and Research Assistant Internship
more...less...
Position Description:
The Town of Poultney, VT seeks assistance with research, communications, and graphic design in support of its Economic Development Office, Town Office and partner organizations involved in community revitalization and marketing efforts. This position will work directly with the Economic Development Coordinator to conduct research (online and in-person), inventory existing marketing and communications materials (online and print), create a communications plan for the town, develop and post updates to websites and social media, assist with branding initiatives, public engagement, standardizing templates, local journalism, grant writing, public administration and more.
Education and Experience:
Qualified candidates will have an educational background and experience in communications. Interest in public administration, economic development, planning or community revitalization is a plus. Candidate should have the ability to multi-task, work independently, and be comfortable interacting with diverse groups to conduct surveys, interviews and/or report to various organizations.
Required Knowledge, Skills, and Abilities:
Candidate should possess strong writing and graphic design skills. Experience with Adobe Creative Suite and Microsoft Office, and familiarity with multiple social media platforms and website templates will be helpful.

This position has flexible hours and will include both in-person work (at the Stonebridge Inn in Poultney) and remote work. Attendance at public meetings, online seminars or conferences may be requested on occasion.
Compensation: Paid by way of a $1,500 grant stipend. Grant stipend contingent on application and successful completion of paperwork.

Other opportunities:

Poultney Mettowee Conservation District
Community Health Centers of the Rutland Region
Mt. Prospect Academy
Castleton Community Center
Community Care Network
CNR Search Firm

Internship listings

Website for students "to connect with Vermont employers and land great internship opportunities in technical, creative, and business pursuits."

Internships.com

An "internship marketplace bringing students, employers and higher education institutions together in one centralized location."

Vermont internship program

Intern Program from Vermont Businesses for Social Responsibility

Listings of current openings

Some books on internships in the library

The list below is only a sampling of books available. See more at

Books on careers in the CU Library

All Work, No Pay: Finding an Internship, Building Your Resume, Making Connections, and Gaining Job experience
Call Number: Stacks 650.14 B453a
Practical Guide to Sport management Internships
Call Number: Stacks 796.069 P881
Criminal Justice Internships:Theory into Practice
Call Number: Stacks 364.07 G655c
Internships in Psychology: The APAGS Workbook for Writing Successful Applications and Finding the Right Match
Call Number: Stacks 150.71 In886

Careers & Post-Graduation Planning: Internships

Spring is a GREAT time for an internship at Castleton University!!