Skip to main content Castleton Third Party Header

GLB 1010: Introduction to Global Studies: Research databases

Resources to support independent research projects for this course

Castleton OneSearch

undefined
Search for articles, books and more...

Featured databases

Two recommended databases with full-text, for current events and controversial issues

Castleton subscription databases for news

Subscription research databases for news and more.

Also see    tab on this guide for other media


‚Äč

Through the Castleton library's subscription, you have access to all the content on the New York Times website.

Click here to register for a NYTimes.com account through the Castleton University library. After you register, you can log in on the New York Times website and access current content and the archives.


Other ways to access the New York Times
(Remote access for the Castleton community only.  Login required for off-campus access.)

New York Times Historical
PDF page images of the New York Times, 1851 - approx. 3 years previous. Searchable by date, keyword, article type.

Infotrac Newsstand
Includes the New York Times 1985 to the present.

Google

Google Scholar is a resource for scholarly articles.  You can also do an advanced search in Google to use it more effectively.

Subscription source for streaming video

Article databases

Featured subscription databases

Other sources of periodical literature

Eurozine
A multilingual open-access web portal to "Europe's leading cultural magazines."

Origins: Current Events in Historical Perspective
From the history department at Ohio State University. Each month an academic expert analyzes a particular current issue--political, cultural, or social-–in its historical context. 

Reports

Freedom House publishes reports on the state of various freedoms around the world