Music Research by
Music Research: A Handbook is designed for use in both undergraduate and graduate music courses that require students to engage in library research or to write research papers.
The Oxford Handbook of Music Education
MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning Volume 1: Strategies
MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning Volume 2: Applications
The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning: A Project of the Music Educators National Conference
Dictionary of Music Education
Use the Castleton Library Catalog to browse or search for books and more in the holdings of the VSC libraries. These subject headings, or their subheadings, might be helpful.
Music
Music instruction and study
Music psychological aspects
Music theory
Musical instruments
Choral music
School music--instruction and study
Tip: for an item that is very relevant, look at its subject field
780's Music
780.7 Music Education
780.9 World music
781 General principles & musical forms
782 Vocal music
783 Music for single voices; the voice
784 Instruments & instrumental ensembles
785 Ensembles with one instrument per part
786 Keyboard & other instruments
787 Stringed instruments
788 Wind instruments
Links from titles are to tables of contents. Books are in print in the library.
Inquiry in Music Education: Concepts and Methods for the Beginning Researcher /
Handbook for the beginning music teacher
Building strong music programs : a handbook for preservice and novice music teachers
Assessment in Music Education
The Teacher's Guide to Music, Media, and Copyright Law
Dimensions of musical learning and teaching: a different kind of classroom
Engaging Musical Practices: A Sourcebook for Middle School General MusicTo place a request for a book or audiovisual item found in the Library Catalog, at another VSC library, click on "Place Request" or "Place hold" within the item view.
For books and audiovisual materials not available in the VSC library system, search WorldCat (or click Search Other Libraries within the library catalog) for the item and click on the Request Item through Interlibrary Loan button. Or log in to the library's Interlibrary Loan System using your Portal username and password, and request the item there.
For questions about interlibrary loan policies and procedures, contact Franny Ryan at (802) 468-1359.
Castleton resources. Login required for off-campus access.
What's So Important About Music Education?
