Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

MUS 5090: Research Methods in Music Education: Interlibrary Loan and Help

Interlibrary loan

To Request an Article

For periodical articles not available in the library or through our databases, click on the Request through interlibrary loan link within Castleton OneSearch or our databases, or use the Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form to enter information about the article (you will be prompted to login to our Interlibrary Loan System using your Portal username and password). 

Check the Journal Titles A-Z list to determine whether or not the library provides access to the journal.  If you need help with this process, contact a librarian.


To Request a Book or Audiovisual Materials

To place a request for a book or audiovisual item found in the Library Catalog, click on "Place Request" or "Place hold" within the item view.  

For books and audiovisual materials not available in the library, search WorldCat for the title and click on the Request Item through Interlibrary Loan button, or use the Interlibrary Loan Request Form to enter information about the title (you will be prompted to login to our Interlibrary Loan System using your Portal username and password). 


For questions about interlibrary loan policies and procedures, contact Kim Bailey at (802) 468-6062.

Ask a Librarian

       

 

 

When Castleton librarians are unavailable, you will be chatting with a librarian from another academic institution. 

Have a Citation?

If you have a citation for an article and want to locate the full-text:
 

Search within CU subscription resources

1)  Put the title or important key words into the Castleton OneSearch search box (within this guide, or the main search box on the library website).  Find the article, see if full-text is available.  If no full-text, go to step 1a.

1a) Still in OneSearch, click to search for your search terms in the ProQuest database, which is not included in OneSearch searches. Scroll down to see this icon on the left of your screen:

undefined


Clicking on that icon will run your search in the large ProQuest database, using the search terms you typed into OneSearch, in a new tab or window.  Find the article, see if full-text is provided.

 

or

2)  Search our Journals Titles A-Z for the title of the journal where the article is published. When you find the journal, click on Full Text Access.  See if the date of the journal your article is in is contained in the full-text holdings in any of the databases listed. Locate your article by issue date or by searching within that journal.


If you don't find full-text in CU subscriptions:

3)  Search using the title or important key words in Google Scholar (scholar.google.com).  Look for an HTML or PDF link in the right column.

4)  If no full-text is available, Castleton faculty, staff and students can request articles through interlibrary loan.  Access the interlibrary loan system here or through the link on the library website.  Sign in, then click on Create Request. Fill in the necessary information.  Look for a response in your Castleton email.

Google Scholar Search

About Google Scholar: "From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."


To set Google Scholar to link to Castleton's journal holdings:

  1. On the Google Scholar homepage, open Settings from the menu at the top left, the three horizontal lines.
  2. Click on Library Links on the left
  3. Search for Castleton and click to add the two boxes for Castleton
  4. Click on Save

For expert assistance

You can ask a librarian at the Performing Arts Reading Room of the Library of Congress


These major universities/music schools have music libraries, staffed with specialists:

University of Michigan

Indiana University

Berklee
 

Book an Ask a Librarian Appointment

Meet with one of our expert librarians and get help with your research.

Appointments can take place in person in the Calvin Coolidge Library, via phone, or online using Zoom.