Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

Special Education Subject Guide: Learn More about Special Education

Resources for pre-service teachers

Hot Topics in Special Education

Conversation within Special Education

Scholars and experts in Special Education regularly share information through online forums and listservs like these:

More Best Bets


 

Use the Castleton Library Catalog to search for books and more in the libraries of the VSC system.

Some relevant subject headings

  • Special education
  • Special education Law and legislation United States
  • Learning disabilities
  • Learning
  • Cognition
  • Neuropsychology
  • Neurosciences
  • Children with disabilities
  • Children with disabilities--education law and legislation United States
  • Exceptional children
  • Developmental disabilities
  • Developmental disorders


For browsing:

344 Law

344.0791  Education of specific groups of students (law relating to)

344.730791  Federal special education law

371 Schools and their activities

371.9 Special education

371.904 General topics of special education
371.908 Groups of people

371.90973 Disabled people--education--United States
371.91 Students with physical disabilities
371.92 Students with mental disabilities
371.93 Delinquent and problem students
371.94 Students with emotional disturbances
371.95 Gifted students

Hot topics in Special Education

Key Journals

Special Education News

Newsfeed from Education Week

Loading ...

CU Library databases

Google Scholar: search, find full-text, and "citation chain"

Google Scholar Search

Searches "across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."

Try an advanced search.


Locate full-text

Boost Google Scholar's usefulness by setting it to locate Castleton's subscription full-text when available, or use it to locate full-text if a source after you've searched CU's subscriptions. To set it up to find CU full-text:

Click the three bars at the top left.  Under Settings, choose Library Links. Search and select the 3 libraries in the image below. Save your preferences.

Now, if the full-text of an article in your search results is available through Castleton, it will be indicated on the right, like this:


Or, use Castleton's Journal Holdings List to check for availability.


Citation-chaining

To see what other sources cite the source you are looking at, you can click on "Cited by."  The higher the number, the more important the source is.  If you have an older source and want to find more recent scholarship on the topic, you can see what other sources build on that older scholarship.