LibGuides: POS 2510 Research Methods: More Resources

Professional Association

American Political Science Association

Conversation within Political Science

Scholars and experts in Political Science regularly information through journal articles and books. Some popular journals include:

Annual Review of Political Science (website)
Many current and featured articles are available for free on the journal site
American Journal of Political Science
From the Midwest Political Science Association, covering all areas of the discipline of political science.
American Political Science Review
Articles covering a significant research problem or answering an important research question of general interest in political science.
Perspectives on Politics
From Cambridge University Press. Full-text 2003-present
Political Science Quarterly
Original essays by leading scholars in the areas of national and international government, politics, and policy.
Annual Review of Political Science (EBSCO)
Full-text 1998 to 2005

Have a Citation?

If you have a citation and want the full-text, search our Journals A-Z for the title of the journal where the article is published:

Journal Titles A-Z

Also a source for full-text

Literature Reviews

A literature review (also called a research review or review of the literature) is a summary of existing research on a topic. It reviews the scholarly "literature" on that topic. It is often a preliminary part of a publication where the author identifies and comments on the relevant previous research, but it can also be a stand-alone work.

To find literature reviews articles, you can:

Add "literature review" OR "review of the literature" to your searches.
See the suggested terms in OneSearch that pop up when you start typing literature review, like literature review or review of the literature or overview or systematic review or meta analysis
Use an Advanced Search in one of the library's databases that has journal articles. An Advanced Search screen will often allow you to select "Literature Review" as a document type to filter your search (be sure not to select "Review", as that will only get you critical reviews of books, articles, movies, etc.)

Pro tip: Use the Advanced Search feature to add the phrase literature n5 review* to your keyword(s). This search looks for the words literature, review, reviewer, reviews, reviewing within 5 words of each other in any order.

In an individual database, you can choose Literature Review as the Document Type in an Advanced Search, as in ProQuest Central:

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles from magazines and scholarly journals on most topics.

Writing a Literature Review
Guidance from the Purdue University Online Writing Lab
Organizing Your Social Sciences Research Paper: The Literature Review
Guidance from the University of Southern California Libraries

Ferris, Dan, Ron Hayduk, Richards Alyscia, Emma Strauss Schubert, and Mary Acri. 2020. Noncitizen voting rights in the global era: A literature review and analysis. Journal of International Migration and Integration 21, (3) (09): 949-971, https://castleton.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/scholarly-journals/noncitizen-voting-rights-global-era-literature/docview/2239964509/se-2?accountid=9930 (accessed February 3, 2022).

David, E. J. R., Tiera M. Schroeder, and Jessicaanne Fernandez. 2019. “Internalized Racism: A Systematic Review of the Psychological Literature on Racism’s Most Insidious Consequence.” Journal of Social Issues 75 (4): 1057–86. doi:10.1111/josi.12350.

Census Explorer
From the U. S. Census Bureau. Graphical GIS tool for retrieving basic demographic data by tract, county or state.
General Social Survey
From the independent research organization NORC at the University of Chicago. "Since 1972 GSS has been "monitoring social change and the growing complexity of American society." "The most frequently analyzed source of information in the social sciences," funded by the NSF.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
From the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan. "Maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields."
Pew Research Global Attitudes Project
Also from the Pew Research Center. Provides public opinion surveys and dataset analyses about attitudes and trends concerning important global topic, including foreign affairs, national security, terrorism, the global image of the US, and globalization and trade.
Pew Social & Demographic Trends
Part of the nonpartisan Pew Research Center, this project "studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure...by combining original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis."
Social Progress Index
From the Social Progress Imperative. Launched in 2013, uses non-economic measures to gauge the well-being of a country's inhabitants.
World Public Opinion
A consortium of public opinion research centers in 25 countries. See public opinion by region or topic. "Giving voice to public opinion around the world."

Polling America: An Encyclopedia of Public Opinion by Samuel J. Best; Benjamin F. Radcliff; Richard L. Clark; Kelly N. Foster
Call Number: REF 303.38 P764
Publication Date: 2020
"Provides an authoritative overview of the composition of public opinion in America, the methodologies by which public opinion is measured, and the importance of polling to U.S. politics, policy, and culture."
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods by Paul J. Lavrakas (Editor) To the uninformed, surveys appear to be an easy type of research to design and conduct, but when students and professionals delve deeper, they encounter the vast complexities that the range and practice of survey methods present. To complicate matters, technology has rapidly affected the way surveys can be conducted; today, surveys are conducted via cell phone, the Internet, email, interactive voice response, and other technology-based modes. Thus, students, researchers, and professionals need both a comprehensive understanding of these complexities and a revised set of tools to meet the challenges. In conjunction with top survey researchers around the world and with Nielsen Media Research serving as the corporate sponsor, the Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods presents state-of-the-art information and methodological examples from the field of survey research. Although there are other ′how-to′ guides and references texts on survey research, none are as comprehensive as this encyclopedia, nor do they present the material in such a focused and approachable manner. With more than 600 entries, this resource uses a Total Survey Error perspective which considers all aspects of possible survey error from a cost/benefit standpoint.áKey Features Covers all major facets of survey research methodology, from selecting the sample design and the sampling frame, designing and pretesting the questionnaire, data collection, and data coding, to the thorny issues surrounding diminishing response rates, confidentiality, privacy, informed consent and other ethical issues, data weighting, and data analyses Presents a ReaderÆs Guide to organize entries around themes or specific topics and easily guide users to areas of interest Offers cross-referenced terms, brief listing of further readings, and stable website URLs following most entries Provides appendices that include a general bibliography to build on ′Further Readings,′ an annotated list of organizations relevant to survey research, and sample survey designs and actual instruments to further offer the user guidance in designing his or her own research The Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods is specifically written to appeal to beginning, intermediate, and advanced students, practitioners, researchers, consultants, and consumers of survey-based information.
Call Number: REF 300.7203 En19
Publication Date: 2008-09-12
Gallup Poll: Public Opinion
Call Number: REF (2016) and Stacks 301.154 G138p 1972-2015)
Publication Date: 1972-2016
Findings of ~500 Gallup Poll reports released to the public for each year. Current reports available online.

Political Science News

NewsFeed from the Annual Review of Political Science

Locating full-text

To locate the text of an article:

In a research database or Castleton OneSearch, look for a link to "HTML Full Text" or "PDF Full Text" or "Full text"

If none of those is available, look for one of these to click:

Full Text Finder or Where can I get this or View Record at ...

On the next screen, look for a link to the article, possibly in another database

If Castleton has the journal in its print collection, pay attention to the date of the article and the date of our holdings, and whether the issue you want is available in print, microfiche, or microfilm. Ask any library staff or student worker for help locating these.

If full-text isn't available, look for a link to request the item through interlibrary loan

Fill out your information using your Castleton email. You will get a response by email.

If you have a citation for a periodical article (journal, magazine, or news) and want to locate full-text, search the Journal Titles A-Z list to see if the library has access to the periodical through a database or a print subscription.

If not, use the Journal Article Request Form link from the Interlibrary loans page on the library website to request the full-text through interlibrary loan.

If you make an interlibrary loan request, keep an eye on your Castleton email for the article or a response.

You may get the article the next day, but it could take a week or two.

Another suggestion for searching for full-text

Google Scholar links to some full-text not available through Castleton's subscriptions. Paste the article title into the Google Scholar search box and look for a link to full-text on the right.