Sherburne Library and Sherburne Historians for Killington area topics: email Jane Ramos with questions: director@sherburnelibrary.org
Vermont Newspapers Index
Offers a searchable index to the Burlington Free Press and the Rutland Herald from 1984 to the present. The library has both newspapers on microfilm, covering these dates:
| Burlington Free Press: | 1986-six months back | ||
| Rutland Herald: | 1792-present |
Rutland County historical societies
Includes full-text of the RHS Quarterly 1970-2012
Also see the library's
Vermont History course guide
 |
Directory of Vermont local historical societies by county
Vermont Women's History Project from the Vermont Historical Society
Vermont History on the Web from the Vermont Historical Society
Vermont Resources from the Johnson State College Library
Middlebury College's Guide to Vermontiana
Gateway to Vermont
Material of genealogical interest, from Rootsweb and Ancestry.com, submitted by Rootsweb members. Information from a variety of early publications, including gazetteers, business directories, biographical sketches, town reports, etc. Includes additional links.
Vermont Heritage Network (historic preservation)
University of Vermont Resources
Center for Research on Vermont
Special Collections, including some Digital collections
Access and search digitized historical Vermont newspaper content from the Vermont Digital Newspaper Project, available at the
Library of Congress Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
The Rutland Herald and Burlington Free Press are included and are searchable from 1836-1922. You can specify a state or choose an Advanced Search, and select a newspaper to search. Includes titles from all over the state, including Bennington, St. Johnsbury, Middlebury, Brattleboro, Burlington, St. Albans, Newport, Rutland, Woodstock, and Montpelier.
Vermont newspapers dating from the 1700s through 1922 are available online for Vermont residents through the MyVermont.gov state portal. MyVermont.gov accounts are free and can be created by visiting https://secure.vermont.gov/myvermont/. Vermont residents need to make a contact and personal profile and then the link to the newspapers will appear at the top of their myvermont.gov page. See instructions below.
You can search the Burlington Free Press from 1827 to the present in the archives on their website. CU has access to full-text online for 1999-the present, and microfilm back to 1985.
You can search the Rutland Herald from 1794 to the present in the archives on their website. CU has microfilm back to 1792, with some interruptions in coverage.
Castleton student newspapers 1934-present
To find newspapers held at Vermont libraries
Vermont Newspaper Project Catalog
This is a searchable index to the newspaper holdings of close to 100 newspaper repositories in Vermont.
Check the Library Catalog to see which newspapers are available here on microfilm.
Consult a librarian about accessing articles or newspapers not available through any of the above options.
Vermont History Journal
(access through the Vermont Historical Society website)
Castleton's library has Vermont History in bound volumes in the Vermont Room, back to 1954. Current issues are with the current periodicals. A lot of content is available on the Vermont Historical Society website, including
Selected articles, 1921-1960
Selected articles, 1961-1999
Civil War Articles
Full-text from 2000 to six months ago
The Vermont Historical Society Proceedings (CU holdings: 1896-1943) became the Vermont Quarterly (1944-1953), which became Vermont History. These are all in the Vermont Room.
Indexes
The Castleton library has indexes to the above Vermont history periodicals, for 1930-42, 1943-51, 1953-77 and 1978-2002. They are shelved with the bound magazines in the Vermont Room.
To search within
Vermont History
Search the Vermont Historical Society (VHS) Library Online Catalog (a link on the left of the VHS library website). In an advanced search, you can choose "article" as the type of source, then search by author, title, keyword or subject. Or use the custom search box below to search full-text and the indexes of the VHS's digitized issues of Vermont History. (If the search box isn't visible at first, reload the page.) Or use the index in the Vermont Room (see above).
Click on the links below to access the PDF indexes to Vermont History for the years indicated.