"Research articles in the art and science of human movement; contributing to knowledge and development of theory either as new information, reviews, substantiation or contradiction of previous findings or as application of new or improved techniques."
Complete Physical Education Plans for Grades 5 to 12 by Isobel Kleinman
Call Number: 613.71 K673c
Accompanying CD @ Circ: # 1622
The Physical Education Activity Handbook by Neil Schmottlach
Call Number: 613.7043 Sch569p
Service Learning for Health, Physical Education, and Recreation: A Step-by-Step Guide by Cheryl Stevens
Call Number: 796.071 St47s
Case Studies in Physical Education: Real World Preparation for Teaching by Sandra A. Stroot
Call Number: 613.707 C266
Teaching Fundamental Motor Skills 3rd Edition with Web Resource by Allison Colvin; Nancy J. Egner Markos; Pamela J. WalkerA lot of books focus on which motor skills should be taught to elementary school children, but few focus on how to teach those skills. Teaching Fundamental Motor Skills, Third Edition, steps into that gap and provides expert instruction on both, serving as a foundation for successful movement experiences for children. The book will help you guide your students in mastering the critical elements of 8 locomotor and 17 manipulative skills. The approach offers a perfect balance between sound pedagogy and fun activities that will engage your students and keep them learning. Skill Chapter Organization The authors have organized the content in a way that makes it easy to locate and implement a multitude of activities that will help children grasp the fundamental skills. Each skill chapter includes the following: * An introduction, which includes a suggested age at which the skill or a portion of the skill should be mastered and, where appropriate, where the skill aligns with the National Standards and Grade-Level Outcomes * Four to six critical elements that are necessary for the skill to be correctly performed * Cue words to help students remember each critical element * Partner skill check assessments that help partners evaluate others' progress * Success Builders to help students correct problems * Activities for practicing the entire skill at once * Troubleshooting charts for identifying problem areas * Lesson plans that guide you through the instructional sequence New to This Edition The content is directly tied to the SHAPE America National Standards and Grade-Level Outcomes and is endorsed by SHAPE America, which is including it in their lineup of resources for physical educators. A web resource contains reproducible forms and checklists. This material is easily accessible and printable from mobile devices. And you'll find the fillable PDFs to be a great aid for your record keeping. Each skill is animated on the web resource. These animations will help children better understand the critical elements of each skill and identify skill techniques that need to be corrected. All the content is now in print. In the previous edition, much of the content was available only on a CD-ROM. Additional Features Teaching Fundamental Motor Skills retains many of the features from its earlier editions that have made the book a favorite among physical educators: outstanding illustrations, cues for you to use in teaching the skills, a troubleshooting chart for spotting and correcting common errors for most skills, assessment sheets, lesson plans, activities, and a wealth of supplementary material. Maximizing Your Time--and Your Students' Experience The authors provide tried-and-true management and instructional tips to help you prepare your lessons and maximize your teaching time. Teaching Fundamental Motor Skills will help you capitalize on the natural excitement and eagerness that most elementary-age children bring to physical educattion. The book provides you with motivating methods to keep the children excited as they learn fundamental motor skills and movement patterns through sound, sequential, high-quality instruction that will meet the needs of all children, regardless of skill level.
Call Number: 372.86 C726te 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Transforming Play by Dennis SladeThe traditional, highly structured, teacher-directed approach of teaching tactics and skills separate from games is quite boring for kids--who, after all, just want to play the game. Transforming Play: Teaching Tactics and Game Sense shows you how to use games to keep kids active and involved. It also shows you how to teach kids the fundamental movement skills and knowledge of basic game strategy that will help them develop a lifelong love of activity. You will learn how using a game sense approach to teaching games and sports can make activity meaningful for all kids, from the novice to the very skilled. Transforming Play: Teaching Tactics and Game Sense includes * an introduction that explains the principles of using games to develop key skills and tactics; * vividly illustrated games that you can use immediately to develop kids' gross motor skills and tactical understanding, which can be transferred to and used in many popular sports; * lesson plans that demonstrate how game sense can be used in teaching school sports; * questions and coaching points you can use at key moments in teaching tactics and strategy as the kids play the games; and * support material for authentic assessment that enhances rather than intrudes on the learning experience. Sports are for everyone, not just the athletically inclined. With Transforming Play: Teaching Tactics and Game Sense, you have access to proven tools for teaching students the simple skills and strategies that will equip them to enjoy sports and physical activity now and throughout their lives.
Call Number: 796.071 SL12t
Publication Date: 2009
Play Practice by Jerry R. Thomas; Jack K. Nelson; Alan LaunderPlay Practice: The Games Approach to Teaching and Coaching Sportspresents a clear alternative to traditional approaches that will revitalize your own teaching and coaching. It replaces mindless games and mechanistic training methods with creative and enjoyable practice that improves students' skills and enhances their tactical understanding. This book focuses on teaching game play first instead of technique and skill--an approach that sets it apart from other games-approach texts. It provides answers to many of the problems that sports educators face, such as motivating reluctant or resistant students. Developed by an internationally known authority on the subject, Play Practice: The Games Approach to Teaching and Coaching Sportsprovides both the theoretical basis and the practical plans for changing practice from drudgery to an educational experience young people look forward to. Part Iintroduces the innovative Play Practiceapproach and explains how it can lead to more effective coaching and teaching. Part IIapplies Play Practiceto a great variety of games and describes specific approaches to improving technical ability and developing game sense. Part IIIdiscusses techniques the sports educator can use to make the Play Practiceapproach most effective. The book's 50 illustrations and 20 photos demonstrate specific approaches to games as well as ideas that can work for multiple games. These features will help you visualize how to apply the Play Practiceapproach with beginners as well as elite players in sports as diverse as skiing and tennis. This book will challenge your thinking about how sports should be taught, help you reassess your own methods, and provide a new and versatile model you can apply with great success--one practice, one game at a time.