It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nonprofit, "grassroots organization of children’s book lovers that advocates essential changes in the publishing industry to produce and promote literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people."
International Literacy Association selects 25 outstanding trade books for enhancing student understanding of people and cultures throughout the world, representing all genres intended for students K-12.
Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books by Rebecca L. Thomas; Carolyn W. Lima
Call Number: REF 011.62 L628a
Publication Date: 2014-06-24
Provides easy subject access that helps librarians build, enhance, and organize storytime programs and reading lists, as well as to help them develop their collections and Indexes some 17,000 picture books for preschool-grade 2 under 1,225 subjects. Covering the full range of genres, themes, and topics, this guide makes it easy to find books to fit a variety of needs.
Children's Picturebooks: The Art of Visual Storytelling by Martin Salisbury; Morag Styles
Call Number: Stacks 741.642 Sa34c
Publication Date: 2012
Includes these chapters:
A brief history of the picturebook -- The picturebook maker's art -- The picturebook and the child -- Word and image, word as image -- Suitable for children? -- Print and process : the shock of the old -- The children's publishing industry
Full-text 1998-one year ago in ProQuest Central. Essays and reviews on all aspects of children's literature and the history of children's literature published for the Children's Literature Foundation Inc.
Full-text 1994-present in Education Research Complete. Critical evaluation, analysis or commentary on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience.
Important publications for teachers and librarians
Full-text 1992-present in ProQuest Central. Includes reviews of the best children's books published, articles about children's books, explorations of children's books from every perspective and news of the children's book world. Some content freely available on website.