LibGuides: Art & Art History Subject Guide: Learn More about Art/Art History

Conversation within Art and Art History

Scholars and experts in art and art history regularly sharer information through listservs.

Here is one of the most popular:

Art-Hist
Discussion list for art historians

Professional Associations

Hot Topics in Art

Artnet
Includes information on individual artists, including images of their work and a biography
Artcyclopedia
A directory of art resources on the Internet. Includes a Commercial Art Gallery Search Engine. Pages on individual artists link to *much* more information.
Art21: Artists
Video series from PBS.

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biographies, with articles, primary sources, videos, audio, and images.

To find reviews of artists' exhibits:

In OneSearch or another database, in an advanced search, put in the artist's name and art review

Some e-reference books for biographical information

A Biographical Dictionary of Artists
Publication Date: 1995
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists
Publication Date: 1994

AIGA Guide to Careers in Graphic & Communication Design
WetCanvas: Online Living for Artists
Website and social network for people working in creative fields

Art/Work: Everything You Need to Know (And Do) as You Pursue Your Art Career
Call Number: Stacks 702.3 B469a
The Profitable Artist: A Handbook for All Artists in the Performing, Literary and Visual Arts
Call Number: Stacks 706.8 P943
How to Survive and Prosper as an Artist: Selling Yourself Without Selling your Soul
Call Number: Stacks 706.88 M582h
Artists Communities: A Directory of Residencies That Offer Time and Space for Creativity
Call Number: REF 700.25 Ar788

In the catalog, you can browse under the subject heading

Photography

See the items under this heading, related headings, and subheadings.

Browse in the library in Reference and in the stacks:

770 - 779

Reframing Photography
Companion website to the 2011 book in the Castleton stacks. "Rethinking of conceptual and technical aspects of photography across time periods, across themes, and through varied materials. Essays and how-to sections provide ideas, information, and inspiration for artists who use photography in varied ways."

Reframing Photography by Rebekah Modrak; Bill Anthes
Call Number: 771 M721r
100 Ideas That Changed Photography
Publication Date: 2012
This compelling book chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped photography from the invention of the daguerreotype in the early 19th century up to the digital revolution and beyond.

International Center of Photography (ICP) ICP, in New York City, "is the world’s leading institution dedicated to the practice and understanding of photography and the reproduced image in all its forms." Online: collections, institutional archives, perspectives, and interviews.

Suggested search

More Best Bets

To browse art books see 700-799 in the stacks and reference.

700	Arts
710	Landscaping & Area Planning
720	Architecture
730	Sculpture, Ceramics & Metalwork
740	Drawing & Decorative Arts
750	Painting
760	Graphic Arts
770	Photography

Click below for a more detailed list of Dewey Decimal numbers for all topics in art:

Dewey numbers for visual arts books A list of the Dewey Decimal numbers and what they mean, for all the visual arts. Helpful for knowing where to browse in the stacks.

Art Discovery Group Catalogue
Search multiple national and international art library online catalogs at once.

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of ebooks to read online or download.

Art-related ebooks in EBSCO ebook collection
SmartHistory from the Khan Academy
A conversation-based multimedia art history web-book (textbook). From Khan Academy.
Reframing Art History
Art history textbook from Smarthistory
more...less...
"Reframing Art History, an open-access multimedia art history "textbook," gives you a guided journey through the living, breathing, meaningful side of art history. We’re less concerned with names and dates than with meaning and movement. With chapters developed by a group of more than 40 experts, it showcases art and history from the bottom up."

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Articles from encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Art-related ebooks in Credo Reference

ProQuest Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Articles from magazines and scholarly journals on art and humanities topics.

New York Times
Make an account through the library for access to the entire archive of the New York Times.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Browse and read open access journals by subject

To locate the text of an article:

In a research database or Castleton OneSearch, look for a link to "HTML Full Text" or "PDF Full Text" or "Full text"

If none of those is available, look for one of these to click:

Full Text Finder or Where can I get this or View Record at ...

On the next screen, look for a link to the article, possibly in another database

If Castleton has the journal in its print collection, pay attention to the date of the article and the date of our holdings, and whether the issue you want is available in print, microfiche, or microfilm. Ask any library staff or student worker for help locating these.

If full-text isn't available, look for a link to request the item through interlibrary loan

Fill out your information using your Castleton email. You will get a response by email.

If you have a citation for a periodical article (journal, magazine, or news) and want to locate full-text, search the Journal Titles A-Z list to see if the library has access to the periodical through a database or a print subscription.

If not, use the Journal Article Request Form link from the Interlibrary loans page on the library website to request the full-text through interlibrary loan.

If you make an interlibrary loan request, keep an eye on your Castleton email for the article or a response.

You may get the article the next day, but it could take a week or two.

Another suggestion for searching for full-text

Google Scholar links to some full-text not available through Castleton's subscriptions. Paste the article title into the Google Scholar search box and look for a link to full-text on the right.

SmartHistory from the Khan Academy
A conversation-based multimedia art history web-book (textbook). From Khan Academy.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Articles from encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Browse art-related reference books in Credo

Examples of art reference books:

(Also see print books in Reference 700-799)

Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Covers milestones and movements in all arts, including theater, from Ancient Egypt to the Enlightenment.
Bloomsbury Guide to Art
A survey of the history of art and architecture offering insight into the origins and significance of the work of Western artists and architects
100 Ideas That Changed Art
From the earliest cave paintings through to the internet and street art, this inspiring book chronicles the 100 most influential ideas that have shaped the world of art.

Artcyclopedia
Directory of art resources on the Internet, searchable and browseable by movement, medium, subject, or artist name.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
"Pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection." Choose a place and time and see relevant key events and works of art from the Met collection.
Art History Resources on the Web
Collected by professor Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe, Sweet Briar College

Top Journals

Art in America
Search 1984-present, full-text 2002-present. Browse recent issues in the library.
Art Forum
Search 1987-present, full text 1993-one year ago. Browse recent issues in the library.
Art Journal
Search and full-text 1974-present.
Art Monthly
Search and full-text 2003-present.

These titles in print in the library. Click for website, full text in the library as indicated.

Art New England (Current 12 months)

Art News (1963-current)