Skip to main content Castleton Third Party Header

HIS 3465: Apartheid South Africa: South African History

Relevant websites

South Africa Government Online

African National Congress
The website of the South African political party

South Africa History Archive
"SAHA's central mission is to recapture lost and neglected histories and to record aspects of South African history in the making."

South Africa History Online
"SAHO's mission is to break the silence of our past and to create the most comprehensive online encyclopedia of South African history and culture."

Sunday Times Heritage Project
An online museum featuring South African history from 1906-2006

Biographical sources

South Africa History Online has a tab for People/Biographies.  Or search for a name in the search box.


Subscription database from the Castleton library:

Castleton OneSearch

undefined
Search for articles, books and more...

More on African History


See the Library's African History Subject Guide

Article databases

Suggested databases for scholarly articles:

ProQuest Research Library: History
 



A very large, multi-disciplinary database that includes indexing for over 8,000 magazines and journals with full text of articles from over 4,600 of those.



Index to periodicals and other material in physical education, exercise science, athletic training, recreation, and more. Limited to four simultaneous users.


JSTOR Arts & Sciences I & II

(Tip: Use advanced search, but don't try to search within abstracts--very few articles have abstracts in JSTOR.  Try searching in the title field.)
Contains complete back runs of about 246 scholarly journals. Coverage for each journal title begins whenever the journal started, with several titles going back to the nineteenth century and continuing up to 1-5 years ago.

Search tip

Searching the online catalog or databases--you might try this kind of mixed subject and keyword search, trying south africa as the subject and your topic as a keyword, or the reverse.

Books on South Africa

For browsing

Link into catalog Dewey numbers
Africa history 960-969
South Africa history 968
South Africa Politics and Government 968.06
Apartheid South Africa 305.8 and 320.56


Some books on South Africa and its history:

Ask a Librarian

       

 

 

When Castleton librarians are unavailable, you will be chatting with a librarian from another academic institution.