Skip to main content Castleton Third Party Header

THA 2011 and 2012 Theater History: Theatre history

Resources for Castleton's theater history courses

Encyclopedia, Guides, and Dictionaries

Cambridge Guide to World Theatre
REF 792.0321 C144

Cambridge History of British Theatre (3 volumes)
REF 792.0941 C144

A Pictorial History of the American Theatre 1860-1970
REF 792.0973 B627p

American Theatre 1930-1969
REF 792.0973 B644a

Oxford Companion to American Theatre
REF 792.0973 B644o

Cambridge Guide to American Theatre
REF 792.0973 C144

At This Theatre: 100 Years of Broadway Shows, Stories and Stars
REF 792.097471 B659a

Western Drama Through the Ages: A Student Reference Guide (2 volumes)
REF 809.2 W525

Exhibits

The Art of Ancient Greek Theater. Developed as part of an exhibit at the Getty Museum, the site includes three different, vitally important features: an images section (picturing the exhibited items), an interactive map, and a papyrus fragment (pictured and spoken).

Using the VSC catalog

Use the Library Catalog to search for books and more.

See books on:


For items on theater history of particular country

theater country history  or

theater and society country history

For example: 

Theater France History

Theater and society England History


Browse books on theatre history in the stacks at: 
792.09

A film

Primary sources

Also see the Primary Sources pages on the American History and Global History subject guides


East London Theatre Archive
"A database of East London theatre ephemera provided by the Victoria & Albert Theatre Collections, East London theatres and University of East London archives.
Ranges from 1827 to the present day, including playbills and programmes to press cuttings and photographs. It also has themed essays to contextualise the material and maps showing theatre locations."

Ringling Collection:  Images of 19th Century Actors and Actresses
The Ringling Collection is comprised of cabinet cards, postcards and photographs of American and British actors and actresses.  The Collection is one of several housed in the Belknap Collection for the Performing Arts at the University of Florida.

Books in the library

E-books

Exhibits

The Art of Ancient Greek Theater. Developed as part of an exhibit at the Getty Museum, the site includes three different, vitally important features: an images section (picturing the exhibited items), an interactive map, and a papyrus fragment (pictured and spoken).