Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

HIS 2070: Vermont History: Castleton University history

Resources to support Castleton students and faculty doing research on Vermont history topics

Book about the college's history

Big Heart: The Journey to Castleton's Two Hundred and Twenty-fifth Birthday
Vermont Collection 378.7437 B48

Castleton Archives

From the library website:

Castleton has a long history dating back to 1787 when the Castleton townspeople started the Rutland County Grammar School, 21 years after the town was chartered.

About the Archives

The University Archives collection, located on campus in the Calvin Coolidge Library, seeks to capture the University's history by collecting, preserving and sharing a variety of materials. Resources include college yearbooks, handbooks, catalogs, commencement programs, photos, films, and artifacts. 

Some material is available in digital form:

If you have questions about our archival collections, please contact library@castleton.edu.

Castleton University materials in the library

Use the Library Catalog to browse or search for books and more in the holdings of the VSC libraries.

Try the subject term Castleton State College history.

Additional materials are in the University archives.  Contact library staff for more information and access to archival materials.