Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

HIS 2210: History of Women in the U.S.: Finding articles

Information resources to support independent research for the Castleton University course, "United States Women's History"

Journals to read online

Specific journals
 



Browse or search the Journal of Women's History through Academic Search Premier


Browse or search Gender and History through Academic Search Premier


Browse more history-related journals and search within specific periodicals


See the library's Journal Titles A to Z list to browse or search for specific titles. Find the periodical, then click on "journal" under the name of a database that contains it to browse by date, or search within the journal.


You can browse or search a large set of open access online history and gender studies journals through the Directory of Open Access Journals.

Castleton subscription databases

undefined
Search for articles, books and more...

General


*Note: Links to full text of some articles will be available immediately. If there is NO link to full text, check Castleton's Journal Titles A-Z List for availability.

Locating full-text

To locate the text of an article:

 

In a research database or Castleton OneSearch, look for a link to "HTML Full Text" or "PDF Full Text" or "Full text"

If none of those is available, look for one of these to click:

Full Text Finder or Where can I get this or View Record at ...

On the next screen, look for a link to the article, possibly in another database

If Castleton has the journal in its print collection, pay attention to the date of the article and the date of our holdings, and whether the issue you want is available in print, microfiche, or microfilm.  Ask any library staff or student worker for help locating these.

If full-text isn't available, look for a link to request the item through interlibrary loan

Fill out your information using your Castleton email.  You will get a response by email.

If you have a citation for a periodical article (journal, magazine, or news) and want to locate full-text, search the Journal Titles A-Z list to see if the library has access to the periodical through a database or a print subscription.

If not, use the Journal Article Request Form link from the Interlibrary loans page on the library website to request the full-text through interlibrary loan.

If you make an interlibrary loan request, keep an eye on your Castleton email for the article or a response.

You may get the article the next day, but it could take a week or two. 

Another suggestion for searching for full-text

Google Scholar links to some full-text not available through Castleton's subscriptions. Paste the article title into the Google Scholar search box and look for a link to full-text on the right.

Google Scholar Search

A bibliography

ViVa Women's History

Viva is a current bibliography of women's and gender history in historical and women's studies journals. From the Dutch International Institute of Social History.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

About Google Scholar: "From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."


To set Google Scholar to link to Castleton's journal holdings:

  1. On the Google Scholar homepage, go into Settings in the upper right-hand corner
  2. Click on Library Links on the left
  3. Search for and click the box for Castleton
  4. Click on Save

Or, use Castleton's Journal Titles A-Z List to check for availability.