Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

Global Studies Subject Guide (archived): Commodity assignment

Resources to support Castleton's Global Studies program

Subscription source for streaming video

Streaming video of a wide range of documentary, archival and educational films.  (CU subscription resource.  Log-in required for off-campus access.)

News stories by topic

See what's been in the news about a topic or subject

Search these news outlets

New York Times

BBC

Al-Jazeera

Research databases

Subscription databases for finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles

 

For most topics, these general databases will include something relevant.  Many articles are provided full-text, but not all.  Tip: Try an Advanced Search to combine keywords and subject terms


Specialized databases

Special feature

The Planet Money team from National Public Radio followed the making of a simple T-shirt from cotton fields, to factories, to container ships, and shares this information in a video with several chapters: "Planet Money Makes a T-Shirt."  Click on the audio button above to hear the radio story about the project.

Castleton OneSearch

undefined
Search for articles, books and more...

Using the VSC online catalog

Use the
Vermont State Colleges Online Catalog
to browse or search for books and more
in the holdings of the VSC libraries. 

  To search the catalogs of thousands of other libraries at once, and to request material the VSC library doesn't have, toggle over to World Cat.

Quick search

Search ebook reference sources in CU's Credo Reference collection.


Direct links to full-text entries. (Subscription resource.  Log-in required for off-campus access.)

Using the VSC catalog

About using the catalog to search for books and more


Searching by keyword

Choose the most significant concepts for your search.  Search in "All Fields."


Searching by subject

Put your subject term in the basic search box, and click on subject. 


Or, try an Advanced Search

Here's an example of a search using a subject term and a keyword:

Environmental aspect

Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability

REF 363.7003 B435
10 volumes
Volume 4: Natural resources and sustainability


Encyclopedia of Environment and Society

REF 304.203 En19
5 volumes

Click for a searchable list of contents, with abstracts

After you click the link above, you can browse or search for your topic, then click for the abstract. The full articles are in the encyclopedia in the library.

 

 

Search strategies


Example Boolean search


Notice the parentheses around the or phrase and the truncation

child* and (television or TV or television viewing) and violen*

Your librarian

Profile Photo
Miranda Axworthy
she/her/hers
Contact:
miranda.axworthy@castleton.edu
(802) 468-1359

Some useful websites

Union of Concerned Scientists.  Has a section on Food and Agriculture.

Environmental Justice Foundation.  Has campaigns and reports on cotton, oceans, shrimp, pesticides and wildlife

Global Exchange has reports on Fair Trade Coffee and Chocolate.  Look at the background information and bibliography.

Good Stuff? - A Behind-the-Scenes Guide to the Things We Buy from the Worldwatch Institute

National Geographic Environment

New Dream.org

Organic Consumers Association.  Has a program, Clothes for a Change, focusing on the cotton industry.

CQ Researcher

Books on commodities