Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

Global Studies Subject Guide (archived): Coffee

Resources to support Castleton's Global Studies program

Government resources

Resources from the U.S. federal government

U.S. Department of Agriculture's Global Agriculture Information Network (GAIN) produces semi-annual reports on coffee production in different countries. Choose coffee as a category and a country and date range.

U.S. Department of Agriculture's Foreign Agricultural Service does a biannual report: Coffee: World Markets and Trade. "Includes data on U.S. and global trade, production, consumption and stocks, as well as analysis of developments affecting world trade in coffee."

Subscription source for streaming video

Streaming video of a wide range of documentary, archival and educational films.  (Castleton subscription resource.  Log-in required for off-campus access.)

Click below to access a film on coffee. 

Two publications

Make an account through Castleton, for full access to the NY Times, including archives

See what's been in the news about Coffee

Research databases

Subscription databases for finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles

 

For most topics, these general databases will include something relevant.  Many articles are provided full-text, but not all.  Tip: Try an Advanced Search to combine keywords and subject terms

(Includes the Wall Street Journal)
You can specify publication type (e.g., journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.)



Other databases

 

Countries and ethnic groups

Resources to learn about individual countries

New York Times. Recent and archival news about countries from The New York Times. See what's been internationally newsworthy in your country.  Choose a region at the top of the page or click below to get to a region:

  Americas   Africa   Asia

Then choose a country from the drop-down menu on the right.


CIA World Factbook

Country Profiles or Country Studies from the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress 

Country Profiles from BBC News (Includes timelines and links to media outlets)

Geography of the World (Subscription resource. Login required for off-campus access.) 

Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures (Subscription resource.  Login required for off-campus access.)

National Geographic

Statesman's Yearbook (comprehensive, updated annually)
REF 310 St29


Latin American countries: For links to selected websites on a country, look at the country websites compiled by LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)

About coffee

Books on coffee
in the Castleton library

(link goes into online catalog)

Some examples:

Quick search

Search ebook reference sources in Castleton's Credo Reference collection.


Direct links to full-text entries from over 800 published reference books. (Subscription resource.  Log-in required for off-campus access.)

Using the VSC catalog


Use the Vermont State College Online Catalog
to search for books and more


Searching by keyword ("All Fields")

Choose the most significant concepts for your search. Put just the "key" words in the search box.  Click "Find."


Searching by subject

Put your subject term in the basic search box, and click on subject. 


Or, try an Advanced Search

Here's an example of a search using a subject term and a keyword:

Searching for books beyond the VSC system

To search the catalogs of thousands of other libraries at once, and to request material the VSC library doesn't have, click on WorldCat within the VSC online catalog.

 

Search strategies


Example Boolean search


Notice the parentheses around the or phrase and the truncation

child* and (television or TV or television viewing) and violen*

Sample Proquest search

An example of an advanced search in Proquest, limiting by source type.

To learn about companies and the industry

Tips for Company Research on library's Business Subject Guide.

Industry Profiles

You can select Industry Profile under Publication Type before clicking the search button.  More info.

Discover Topics

Business

Company Dossiers

(Search and select company)

News

Marketing and Product

Some useful websites

Report on coffee industry from the Worldwatch Institute

International Coffee Organization is "the main intergovernmental organization for coffee, bringing together exporting and importing Governments to tackle the challenges facing the world coffee sector through international cooperation."

International Trade Centre (a UN agency) produces a Coffee Guide, including a section on Niche Markets, Environment and Social Aspects

Fairtrade International is the organization that coordinates fairtrade labelling at an international level. See their page on coffee.

CoffeeTalk is an online coffee industry trade magazine

Tea and Coffee Trade Journal

About other coffee-related periodicals

Environmental aspect

Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability

REF 363.7003 B435
10 volumes

Click for a list of contents for
Volume 4: Natural resources and sustainability

After you click on the volume title, look for a link to "Contents." The full articles are in the encyclopedia in the library.


Encyclopedia of Environment and Society

REF 304.203 En19
5 volumes

Click for a searchable list of contents, with abstracts

After you click the link above, you can browse or search for your topic, then click for the abstract. The full articles are in the encyclopedia in the library.

 

 

Your librarian

Profile Photo
Miranda Axworthy
she/her/hers
Contact:
miranda.axworthy@castleton.edu
(802) 468-1359