Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

Global Studies Subject Guide (archived): Research databases

Resources to support Castleton's Global Studies program

Castleton OneSearch

undefined
Search for articles, books and more...

Featured databases

Two recommended databases with full-text, for current events and controversial issues

 

(Remote access for the Castleton community only.  Login required.)

 

CQ Researcher
Electronic version of a highly regarded weekly. Covers one hot topic per week, with full-text 1991 to present. Each issue covers a topic in-depth, and includes references to more material on the subject.

 


Opposing Viewpoints In Context
A virtual library based on the Opposing Viewpoints books, designed to aid students in the study of controversial social issues. You can browse or search and there is reference material, and articles on both sides of controversial issues. To browse topics, click on "Issues" at the top.

Castleton subscription databases for news

Subscription research databases for news and more.

Also see    tab on this guide for other media


‚Äč

Through the Castleton library's subscription, you have access to all the content on the New York Times website.

Click here to register for a NYTimes.com account through the Castleton University library. After you register, you can log in on the New York Times website and access current content and the archives.


Other ways to access the New York Times
(Remote access for the Castleton community only.  Login required for off-campus access.)

New York Times Historical
PDF page images of the New York Times, 1851 - approx. 3 years previous. Searchable by date, keyword, article type.

Infotrac Newsstand
Includes the New York Times 1985 to the present.

Google

Google Scholar is a resource for scholarly articles.  You can also do an advanced search in Google to use it more effectively.

Database for streaming video

Article databases

Subscription research databases for finding journal articles and more

(Remote access for the Castleton community only.  Login required.)

Search these databases to find articles on your topic in a variety of sources.


Featured database

ProQuest Central

Very large, multidisciplinary, database. Includes indexing for over 19,000 sources (mostly magazines and journals). Full text is available for many.


  • Academic OneFile
    A very large, multi-disciplinary database that includes indexing for over 8,000 journals, with full-text of articles in over half of those journal titles.
     
  • Academic Search Premier
    A very large, multi-disciplinary database that includes indexing for over 8,000 magazines and journals with full text of articles from over 4,600 of those.

  • Environment Complete
    Indexing for approximately 1,500 titles, including full-text of articles in 400 journals and 80 monographs. Covers a broad range of environmental and ecological disciplines.

  • JSTOR Arts & Sciences I & II
    Contains complete back runs of about 246 scholarly journals. Coverage for each journal title begins whenever the journal started, with several titles going back to the nineteenth century and continuing up to 1-5 years ago.
     
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    Offers comprehensive coverage of Sociology, with additional coverage of related disciplines (criminology and criminal justice, social work, social psychology, gender studies, etc.) Indexing for over 4,000 titles, with full text of articles from over 500 journals.

Note: Links to full text of some articles will be available immediately. If there is NO link to full text, check Castleton's Journal Titles A-Z List for availability.

Other sources of periodical literature

Eurozine
A multilingual open-access web portal to "Europe's leading cultural magazines."

Origins
From the history department at Ohio State University. Each month an academic expert analyzes a particular current issue--political, cultural, or social-–in its historical context. 

Reports

Freedom House publishes reports on the state of various freedoms around the world