Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

ART 2420 and 3150: Art Education: Sources of images

Information resources for students training to be art teachers

Sources of copyright-free media

Lots of resources

Public Domain Image Resources from Wikipedia


CCLearn, a division of Creative Commons dedicated to realizing the potential of the internet to support open learning and open educational resources.

Creative Commons. Creative Commons is a nonprofit corporation dedicated to making it easier for people to share and build upon the work of others, consistent with the rules of copyright. They provide free licenses and other legal tools to mark creative work with the freedom the creator wants it to carry, so others can share, remix, use commercially, or any combination thereof.

Wikimedia Commons, a database of millions of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.

Visual Resources on a Budget

More on open content

See a guide from the Castleton library on

Finding Open Content

Indexes

Indexes to illustrations and reproductions 


Art in Time
REF 016.7 H299a

Index to Two-Dimensional Art Works
REF 701.6 K845

Sculpture Index
REF 730.16 C536s

Index to Reproductions of American Paintings: A Guide to Pictures Occuring in More Than Eight Hundred Books
REF 759.1 M757

Index to Reproductions of European Paintings; A Guide to Pictures in More Than Three Hundred Books
REF 759.016 M757i

 

 

Sources of images online

Subscription resources for Castleton community
Log-in required for off-campus access

VSC Art & Architecture Image Database. Over 15,000 high-resolution images, from neolithic to twentieth century. Requires login from all locations.

The Bridgeman Art Library Archive

National Gallery Collection (high definition images from the National Gallery, London)

National Gallery Companion Guide

National Portrait Gallery Image Collection. Over 85,000 images from the National Portrait Gallery, London


Free Online

Resources for Visual Collections, part of the Mother of all Art and Art History Links Pages from the School of Art & Design at the University of Michigan.

Image Collections and Online Art, also part of the Mother of all Art and Art History Links Pages from the School of Art & Design at the University of Michigan.

Art Images for College Teaching contains images spanning the entire history of art and is intended to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain to the educational community. The images displayed on this site have been photographed on location by the author.

Art Project, powered by Google
Google has partnered with 17 of the world's top museums.  Site visitors navigate the site by selecting a museumand then virtually explore the museum by walking through the galleries and selecting particular artworks to view more closely.

ArtsConnectEd.
Created by Minneapolis Institute of Arts (MIA) and the Walker Art Center, ArtsConnectEd provides a variety of free resources related to the visual arts, including over 100,000 resources: works of art, audio, video, texts, and an assortment of interactive tools. Includes a tool, Searchable by medium, culture, or artist's name. Users can zoom in or launch the work in full-screen mode.

Shared Shelf Commons, a free, open-access online database of digital images from libraries, archives, and museums around the world, sponsored and hosted by ARTStor.

New York Public Library Public Domain Collections

Sources of video

Subscription resource


Arts and education-related websites for video online


Art videos from Explo.TV, from the Exploratorium, the Museum of Science, Art and Human Perception, in San Francisco

Arts area of MERLOT, (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Teaching Online)

Video Gallery from the Getty Museum


General sites for video online


Vimeo Video sharing site.

Youtube

Google Video Search, watch and buy video from TV, movies, individuals, and more.

Online galleries

National Gallery of Art Collection

Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection
Including
over 440,000 images online, including more than 375,000 in the public domain.

J. Paul Getty Museum Art

Art Institute of Chicago Collections

Tate Museums
Including the Tate in London, the national collection of art in Britain and the Tate Modern

Museum websites

Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, Mass.

Rijksmuseum, The Netherlands
Includes the interactive Rijksstudio