Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

ART 2420 and 3150: Art Education: Finding articles

Information resources for students training to be art teachers

Castleton OneSearch

undefined
Search for articles, books and more...

Education-related subscription databases

Open access journals


You can browse and read dozens of
Art and Architecture and Education journals online. From the Directory of Open Access Journals.


An online arts and culture magazine:  Juxtapoz.com

Art Index

Art Index
REF 700.016 Ar75

1929 to the present.

Indexes more than 480 art periodicals. 

School Arts

School Arts is a professional journal for teachers interested in or involved in art education, published monthly during the school year (9 issues). Covers visual culture, art history, criticism, aesthetics, and art production, and includes lesson plans and classroom resources for grades K-12.

School Arts is available full-text online via subscription here.

The Castleton library has issues of School Arts in the library in print, 1990- present.

Other art education periodicals

Art Education is full-text and indexed in ProQuest Central, 1997 to present


International Journal of Art & Design Education is full-text in Academic Search Premier, 2000 to 12 months ago


Studies in Art Education is full-text and indexed in Education Research Complete, 2004-present.  Castleton has back issues in print 1970-1981


Arts Education Policy Review is full-text and indexed in ProQuest Central, 1988-present

Education journals available

Print and Electronic Journal Subscriptions in Education

 
You can browse or search within
over 2000 education periodicals

(alphabetical list)

 

To use: Click on the name of a journal of interest.  Click on the link to "journal" for a database that provides full-text of that journal. Browse by date or look for a link to “Search within this publication."

 

Or, go to the Journal Titles A-Z List (also a link from the library's homepage) to search for a particular periodical. Use this list to locate full-text when you have citation.

Top Journals

These titles in print in the library.  Click for website, full text in the library as indicated.

Art New England (Current 12 months)

Art News (1963-current)