Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

ENG 3260: Western Mythology: Books

Sources for researching and exploring Western Mythology

Ebooks

Examples of relevant ebooks to read online


Also see this guide's links to online reference books


Other sources of ebooks

Hathitrust Digital Library
Free access to books that are out of copyright, or otherwise in the public domain. Previews and/or bibliographic information about others.

Project Gutenberg
Free access to the full text of out of copyright titles.

Internet Archive
Free access to the full text of books and other texts that are out of copyright or otherwise in the public domain. Also includes audio and moving image archives.

Bartleby.com
Classics that are in the public domain. (Note that standard reference works are older editions.)

For books and more

Library Catalog
for browsing or searching for books and more in the holdings of the VSC libraries. 


Try these subject terms:

  • Folklore
  • Folklore Great Britain
  • Mythology
  • Mythology in literature
  • Mythology, Celtic
  • Mythology, Classical  (Greek and Roman)
  • Mythology, Greek
  • Mythology, Norse
  • Mythology, Roman
or add any topic or country after Mythology, for example:   
Mythology, African
Cats Mythology

To browse books in the library, see these call numbers:

World mythology        201.3
Classical (Greek and Roman) mythology    292
Norse mythology 293.13
Celtic (and other British) mythology 299.16

Google books


Search Google Books to look for more mythology books, possibly full-text online.

Or try an advanced search.  To limit to full-text books, choose Full-view only for your search.


Google Book Search

Some books on Norse mythology