Skip to main content Castleton Third Party Header

World History Subject Guide (archived): Tambora

About this page

Resources related to the events of 1815 in the aftermath of the eruption of the Mount Tambora volcano

Related books

Castleton OneSearch

undefined
Search for articles, books and more...

Recommended database

A book

About the book: 

When Indonesia's Mount Tambora erupted in 1815, it unleashed the most destructive wave of extreme weather the world has witnessed in thousands of years. The volcano's massive sulfate dust cloud enveloped the Earth, cooling temperatures and disrupting major weather systems for more than three years. Amid devastating storms, drought, and floods, communities worldwide endured famine, disease, and civil unrest on a catastrophic scale. On the eve of the bicentenary of the great eruption, Tambora tells the extraordinary story of the weather chaos it wrought, weaving the latest climate science with the social history of this frightening period to offer a cautionary tale about the potential tragic impacts of drastic climate change in our own century.

Encyclopedias

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History
(click to access the encyclopedia online)

"An integrated view of the history of our global community from a 21st-century perspective,
with a focus on environmental and social issues"


World History Encyclopedia
(click to access the encyclopedia online)

21 volume encyclopedia focuses on specific themes of human development across cultures era by era

The Age of Revolutions, 1750–1914

Quick search

Credo Reference

Searches ebook reference sources in Castleton's Credo Reference collection. Direct links to full-text entries from over 900 published reference books.

Subscription resource. Log-in required for off-campus access.

Time Maps

TimeMap and Atlas of World History
Shows changes over time on a map.  Clickable regions to learn more.

19th Century scholarship

NINES: Nineteenth-Century Scholarship Online.
"A scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first."