Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

World History Subject Guide (archived): Mesoamerican and Andean Civilizations

Article databases

Suggested databases for world history articles:
 

Proquest Research Library: Historical
"A highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers," with coverage of over 1,900 publications.


A very large, multi-disciplinary database that includes indexing for over 8,000 magazines and journals with full text of articles from over 4,600 of those.


JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II & III
An electronic collection of the complete back runs of about 246 scholarly journals

 


Search within
National Geographic,
access full-text online

(add and inca or and aztec or and maya in the search box)

Subscription video

Films on Demand
Streaming documentary and educational films.  Includes over 100 films on Ancient Civilizations.

Reference sources in the library

     

Complete Illustrated History of the Aztec & Maya: The Definitive Chronicle of the Ancient Peoples of Central America & Mexico - including the Aztec, Maya, Olmec, Mixtec, Toltec & Zapotec
REF 972.00497 P541c

 

   

Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Ancient World
REF 930.03 En19 (4 volumes)

 

     

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
REF 980 En19 (5 volumes)

     

World Encyclopedia of Archaeology
REF 930.103 W893 (5 volumes)


Encyclopedia of Ancient Civilizations
REF 930.03 C829e

Oxford Companion to Archaeology
REF 930.103 Ox2

Encyclopedia of Religion
REF 200.321 En19r (16 volumes)

Mythology source

Some websites

Lots of links
 


Latin American Network Information Center, from the University of Texas at Austin.  "LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America."   See their set of history links.


For primary sources


History of Science in Latin America:  Virtual Archives

World Digital Library: Latin America and the Caribbean (see Time Periods on the left)

Links to materials in the VSC online catalog

Some relevant subject headings in the
Library Catalog

America--Antiquities  
Aztecs   Olmecs
Aztecs--Antiquities    Olmecs--Antiquities
Aztecs--History   Olmecs--History
Incas   Toltecs
Incas--Antiquities   Toltecs--Antiquities
Incas--History   Toltecs--History
Mayas    
Mayas--Antiquities    
Mayas--History    
     

Try an Advanced Search with a keyword and one of the headings above as a subject. 

An example: keyword = astronomy and subject = mayas.


Dewey numbers for browsing:
 

Mythology   201
History of Central America; Mexico    972
History of South America   980

Films and fiction

Film databases

Internet Movie Database

BFI Film & TV Database

More on sources of film/video


Fiction

To find fictional works about the subjects above, do an Advanced Search in the online catalog and add "fiction" as a keyword.  Put one of the headings above as a subject.  An example: keyword = fiction and subject = mayas.

Other sources for books

Searching for books beyond Vermont State College libraries' holdings


Worldcat is a very large union catalog that includes the holdings of most U.S. academic libraries.

 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

 

Google Book Search


Google Books permits searching the full content of some books. Books in the public domain (not copyright protected) are available online.


Interlibrary loan, to obtain books not available in a VSC library:

If you find a book (or other item) of interest that the VSC libraries don't own, you can request it through interlibrary loan. 

Click on Search Other Libraries here or within the library catalog

Find the book you want and click on  

Then log in and make the request.  Pay attention to your Castleton email for follow-up.