Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

World History Subject Guide (archived): Finding articles

Magazines

Two magazines with substantial articles on history topics:


Search for articles in National Geographic online.  Link goes into database--click on "Search within this publication." Full-text in the database is from 1995-3 months ago.

Add your search term after JN "National Geographic." For example:

The library has 1923-present in print.


Search for articles in Smithsonian online.  Link goes into database--click on "Search within this publication." Full-text in the database is from 1990-current issue.

Add your search term after JN "Smithsonian." For example:


The library has 1970-present in print.

Journals to read online

Browse history-related journals


Search or browse for specific periodicals in the library's Journal Holdings List. Click on "journal" under a database that contains the journal to browse by date or search within the journal.

For example, the Journal of World History is available full-text in Academic Search Premier from 2001 to 1 year ago


You can browse some open access online history journals through the Directory of Open Access Journals.


Specific online journals

World History Connected: The EJournal of Learning and Teaching
Free online journal "for everyone who wants to deepen the engagement and understanding of world history"

CSC subscription databases

Subscription research databases for finding journal articles and more.  

Search these databases to find articles on your topic in a variety of sources. (Remote access for the CU community only.  Login required.)


Proquest Research Library: Historical
"A highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers," with coverage of over 1,900 publications.
 


JSTOR Arts & Sciences I & II
Contains complete back runs of about 246 scholarly journals. Coverage for each journal title begins whenever the journal started, with several titles going back to the nineteenth century and continuing up to 1-5 years ago.

See a tutorial on How to use JSTOR


New York Times Historical
PDF page images of the NEW YORK TIMES, 1851 - approx. 3 years previous. Searchable by date, keyword, article type.



Academic OneFile

A very large, multi-disciplinary database that includes indexing for over 8,000 journals, with full-text of articles in over half of those journal titles.


Academic Search Premier
A very large, multi-disciplinary database that includes indexing for over 8,000 magazines and journals with full text of articles from over 4,600 of those.


Note: Links to full text of some articles will be available immediately. If there is NO link to full text, check Castleton's Journal Holdings List for availability.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

About Google Scholar: "From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."


To set Google Scholar to link to Castleton's journal holdings:

  1. On the Google Scholar homepage, go into Settings in the upper right-hand corner
  2. Click on Library Links on the left
  3. Search for and click the box for Castleton
  4. Click on Save

Or, use Castleton's Journal Titles A-Z List to check for availability.