Skip to main content Castleton Third Party Header

American History Subject Guide (archived): Reference sources

Resources for study and research in United States history

Featured titles

Encyclopedia of American Studies

from Johns Hopkins University

also available through Credo Reference

U.S. history encyclopedias in the library

View these in print in the Castleton library
 

Race and Racism in the United States: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic
REF 305.800973 R114 (4 volumes)

Encyclopedia of American Political History
REF 320.973 G823e

Congress and the Nation
REF 320.973 C76c

Guide to U.S. Foreign Policy: A Diplomatic History
REF 327.73 G941

Encyclopedia of American Economic History
REF 330.973 En19

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
REF 342.73 En197

Encyclopedia of American Disability History
REF 362.4 En19

The Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates
REF 973.02 C237e

The American Heritage Encyclopedia of American History
REF 973.03 Am35

Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History 
REF 973.03 En193 and online

Encyclopedia of American History
REF 973.03 En1934

Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History
REF 973.03 P935

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
REF 973.0496073 En193

The Reader's Companion to American History
REF 973.03 F732r

Encyclopedia of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era
REF 973.803 En19

American Decades
REF 973.9 Am35 and online

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century
REF 973.9103 En19

Encyclopedia of the Great Depression
REF 973.91603 En19

Atlases

The Routledge Atlas of American History
REF 911.73 G374r

Atlas of American Military History
REF 355.00973022 M966a

Mapping History:  American History Module

Chronologies

United States of America Chronology from Webchron, "the web chronology project"

Her Story: A Timeline of the Women who Changed America
Stacks 973.082 W134h

This Day in American History
REF 973 G914t

The American Years
REF 973.0202 Am35

The Peopling of America: A Timeline of Events that Helped Shape Our Nation
REf 973.04 K959p

Chronology of the American Revolution: Military and Political Actions Day by Day
REF 973.3 H196c

Columbia Chronicles of American Life, 1910-1992
REF 973.9 G656c

American Chronicle: Six Decades in American Life, 1920-1980
REF 973.9 G656a

Global Perspectives on the U.S.

E-Reference Collection

Search ebook reference sources in Castleton's

Credo Reference collection

Direct links to full-text entries from over 750 published reference books

See Credo's own guide to reference sources on American History

with these sections:

Books | Pre-Columbian and Colonial Period | 18th Century | 19th Century | 20th Century | 21st Century

Start a search in Castleton's Credo collection:


American Decades

American Decades and American Decades Primary Sources

 

American Decades
(Also in print in the library at REF 973.9 Am35)

"American Decades is a cross-disciplinary source for...researchers who need a single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history." One volume per decade, 1900-2009.

 

American Decades:
Primary Sources

"Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more." Includes 10 volumes, 1900-1999.

Other reference sources

A Guide to the Study of the United States of America: Representative Books Reflecting the Development of American Life and Thought
REF 016.9173 Un3

United States History: A Selective Guide to Information Sources
REF 016.973 B614u

Handbook for Research in American History
REF 016.973 P95h

Handbook of American Women’s History
REF 305.4 Z76h

Working Americans: 1880-2012
Volume 1: The Working Class
REF 305.5 D445w

The Oxford Companion to American Military History
REF 355.00973 Ox2

Great Events from History: Ecology and the Environment Series
REF 363.7 G798

The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
REF 901.6 Am35

Harvard Guide to American History
REF 973.016 F881h

United States History: A Multicultural, Interdisciplinary Guide to Information Sources
REF 973.016 P426u

American Presidents: A Bibliography
REF 973.0922 M363a

Yearbooks

Facts on File Yearbook 1968-
REF 904 F119

Dictionaries

The HarperCollins Dictionary of American Government and Politics
REF 320.973 Sh13h

Dictionary of American Immigration History
REF 325.73 C812d

Dictionary of American History
REF 973.03 D561

Featurd U.S. history encyclopedias as ebooks

Click on a title to view these encyclopedias online

 

(Subscription resources.  Log-in required for off-campus access.)

An online textbook

 

Outline of U.S. History
an online textbook, in chronological order