Skip to main content Castleton Third Party Header

American History Subject Guide (archived): Finding articles

Resources for study and research in United States history

Journals accessible online

Examples of U.S. history periodicals accessible online through subscription databases

The first link is to search within the periodical or browse by date, via the databases. You can learn more about each periodical on its website.





Castleton OneSearch

undefined
Search for articles, books and more...

Individual CU subscription databases

Subscription research databases for finding journal articles and more. 

(Remote access is for the CU community only.  Log-in required for off-campus access.)

History-specific

You can search within the History subject area of the database.


New York Times Archives (full access to archives online through CU subscription) or use the database below.

General

Print indexes

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature 1802-1907
REF 050.011 P785

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature 1890-2010
REF 050.011 R227

New York Times Index 1851-
REF 070.172 N42

Essay and General Literature Index 1900-
REF 800.011 Es73

Historical Abstracts 1955-1984
REF 900.016 H629

America, History and Life 1964-1982
REF 970.011 Am35


 

Google Scholar

For additional sources

"From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research."

Google Scholar

To set Google Scholar to link to Castleton's journal holdings:

  1. On the Google Scholar homepage, go into Settings in the upper right-hand corner
  2. Click on Library Links on the left
  3. Search for and click the box for Castleton
  4. Click on Save

Or, use Castleton's Journal Titles List to check for availability.

Open access online journals