Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

Education Subject Guide (archived): Research databases

Resources for research in the field of education

Link to all Castleton databases

Complete list of the databases
available at Castleton

Online periodicals

Here's access to some freely available education publications online


Education Week Online

Teacher Magazine

Historical Studies in Education

Rethinking Schools offers some of its content free online.


Directory of Open Access Journals includes several education-themed journals.

Locating full-text

To locate the text of an article:

 

In a research database or Castleton OneSearch, look for a link to "HTML Full Text" or "PDF Full Text" or "Full text"

If none of those is available, look for one of these to click:

Full Text Finder or Where can I get this or View Record at ...

On the next screen, look for a link to the article, possibly in another database

If Castleton has the journal in its print collection, pay attention to the date of the article and the date of our holdings, and whether the issue you want is available in print, microfiche, or microfilm.  Ask any library staff or student worker for help locating these.

If full-text isn't available, look for a link to request the item through interlibrary loan

Fill out your information using your Castleton email.  You will get a response by email.

If you have a citation for a periodical article (journal, magazine, or news) and want to locate full-text, search the Journal Titles A-Z list to see if the library has access to the periodical through a database or a print subscription.

If not, use the Journal Article Request Form link from the Interlibrary loans page on the library website to request the full-text through interlibrary loan.

If you make an interlibrary loan request, keep an eye on your Castleton email for the article or a response.

You may get the article the next day, but it could take a week or two. 

Another suggestion for searching for full-text

Google Scholar links to some full-text not available through Castleton's subscriptions. Paste the article title into the Google Scholar search box and look for a link to full-text on the right.

Google Scholar Search

Government research publications



Education publications from the National Academies Press

"Research areas include education reform, teachers and instruction, and higher education and training. Through studies, reports, workshops, and other activities this research focuses on the most critical issues facing education: standards, teaching, technology, preparation of youth for productive futures, and the improvement of educational research."

Publications are available as PDF downloads.

Castleton OneSearch

undefined
Search for articles, books and more...

Recommended

Sample search

JSTOR

For historical information

   

JSTOR Arts & Sciences I & II

Contains complete back runs of about 246 scholarly journals. Each journal has a "moving wall" of 1 to 5 years (depending on the journal).These are the education journals included.

History of Education Quarterly    1961-2004
History of Education Journal   1949-1959
The History Teacher   1967-2006
The Journal of Blacks in Higher Education   1993-2006
The Journal of Higher Education   1930-2010
The Journal of Negro Education   1932-2006
Sociology of Education   1963-2007
Journal of Educational Sociology   1927-1963

For K-12

Databases for K-12 students

Subscription resources, available through the Vermont Department of Libraries to all libraries in the state.  Click to access Castleton's subscription.  Teachers, check with your school librarian for access through your school.

  • Kids InfoBits  (for elementary)
    For elementary-age children. Content-rich, age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics. Graphical interface.  Helps kids explore and gain comfort with database searching. Full-text proprietary content.
  • Research in Context (for middle school)
    Created specifically for middle-schoolers. Combines Gale reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more. Support for core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
  • Student Resources In Context (for high school)
    Provides high school students with access to magazines, newspapers, books, and other reference content. The database offers audience-appropriate information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.

Search strategies


Example Boolean search


Notice the parentheses around the or phrase and the truncation

child* and (television or TV or television viewing) and violen*

Keyword searching help

Example of a keyword search built using Keyword Builder

Featured resource

The Best Evidence Encyclopedia is a free web site created by the Johns Hopkins University School of Education's Center for Data-Driven Reform in Education (CDDRE) with help from the U.S. Department of Education to give educators and researchers fair and useful information about the strength of the evidence supporting a variety of programs available for students in grades K-12.

More on education journals

Also see the
Journals tab

on this guide

Journals available

Print and Electronic Journal Subscriptions in Education

 
You can browse or search within
over 2000 education periodicals

(alphabetical list)

To use this list

Search within that journal from this page.  Or click the + to see Full Text Access for the journal. 

Click on the name of a journal.  Search within that publication or click "Full Text Access" to link to the journal in its home database, where you can browse by date.

Use this tool to locate full-text when you have a citation

Print index

A print index to periodical articles in education 


For historical topics:

Education Index (1929-2004)
REF 370.016 Ed83

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

About Google Scholar: "From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."


To set Google Scholar to link to Castleton's journal holdings:

  1. On the Google Scholar homepage, go into Settings in the upper right-hand corner
  2. Click on Library Links on the left
  3. Search for and click the box for Castleton
  4. Click on Save

Or, use Castleton's Journal Titles A-Z List to check for availability.