Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

Education Subject Guide (archived): Journals

Resources for research in the field of education

Research databases

To search for articles on a topic, across multiple journals, research databases are the best place to start.

See the

 

tab on this guide.

Online periodicals

Here's access to some freely available education publications online


Education Week Online

Teacher Magazine

Historical Studies in Education

Rethinking Schools offers some of its content free online.


Directory of Open Access Journals includes several education-themed journals.

For Ed. Leadership students

Some educational leadership journals available online through subscription databases


You can browse by date, or search within the journal.

Educational Administration Quarterly

Educational Leadership

International Journal of Education Policy and Leadership

Principal

School Administrator

Journals available

Print and Electronic Journal Subscriptions in Education

 
You can browse or search within
over 2000 education periodicals

(alphabetical list)

To use this list

Search within that journal from this page.  Or click the + to see Full Text Access for the journal. 

Click on the name of a journal.  Search within that publication or click "Full Text Access" to link to the journal in its home database, where you can browse by date.

Use this tool to locate full-text when you have a citation

Locating full-text

To locate the text of an article:

 

In a research database or Castleton OneSearch, look for a link to "HTML Full Text" or "PDF Full Text" or "Full text"

If none of those is available, look for one of these to click:

Full Text Finder or Where can I get this or View Record at ...

On the next screen, look for a link to the article, possibly in another database

If Castleton has the journal in its print collection, pay attention to the date of the article and the date of our holdings, and whether the issue you want is available in print, microfiche, or microfilm.  Ask any library staff or student worker for help locating these.

If full-text isn't available, look for a link to request the item through interlibrary loan

Fill out your information using your Castleton email.  You will get a response by email.

If you have a citation for a periodical article (journal, magazine, or news) and want to locate full-text, search the Journal Titles A-Z list to see if the library has access to the periodical through a database or a print subscription.

If not, use the Journal Article Request Form link from the Interlibrary loans page on the library website to request the full-text through interlibrary loan.

If you make an interlibrary loan request, keep an eye on your Castleton email for the article or a response.

You may get the article the next day, but it could take a week or two. 

Another suggestion for searching for full-text

Google Scholar links to some full-text not available through Castleton's subscriptions. Paste the article title into the Google Scholar search box and look for a link to full-text on the right.

Google Scholar Search

Requesting articles through ILL

If you have a citation and are looking for the article

 

First, check for availability by doing a Journals by Title search in OneSearch 

1)  Search for the periodical by its title

2)  See if the periodical is included in a database or Castleton's print holdings

3)  Notice the dates of coverage.  Is your article included?

If the article isn't available in a subscription database or in Castleton's holdings, try searching for the article in Google Scholar. If still no full-text, you can request it through interlibrary loan.  Use the Article Request Form to make your request.

Ask a Librarian if you need help.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

About Google Scholar: "From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."


To set Google Scholar to link to Castleton's journal holdings:

  1. On the Google Scholar homepage, go into Settings in the upper right-hand corner
  2. Click on Library Links on the left
  3. Search for and click the box for Castleton
  4. Click on Save

Or, use Castleton's Journal Titles A-Z List to check for availability.