Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

Education Subject Guide (archived): Reference sources

Resources for research in the field of education

Statistics

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. 

Encyclopedias available as ebooks

Access these reference books as ebooks

Subscription resources.  Log-in required for off-campus access.

Other

Library in a Book:  Education Reform (2011)
REF 370.973 F914e

The Praeger Handbook of Religion and Education in the United States
REF 379.280973 P883

Quick search

Credo Reference

Searches ebook reference sources in Castleton's Credo Reference collection. Direct links to full-text entries from over 800 published reference books.

Credo's Education Reference eBook Titles

Subscription resource. Log-in required for off-campus access.

Access to children's literature by subject

Children's Picture Book Database
Gives teachers, librarians, parents, and students a tool for designing literature-based thematic units for all subjects.

A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books
REF 011.62 L628a
Comprehensive guide: ~23,000 titles listed under ~1200 subjects

Print encyclopedias in the library

Literacy in America
REF 302.22440973 L712 (2 volumes)

Encyclopedia of Education Law
REF 344.730703 En19

Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
REF 370.1 P549

Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education
REF 370.117503 En19

Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia
REF 370.152303 P959

Encyclopedia of Educational Research
REF 370.3 Al49e

Encyclopedia of Education
REF 370.3 En194

Learning Theories, A to Z
REF 370.3 L552l

The Language of Learning: A Guide to Education Terms
REF 370.3 M122l

World Education Encyclopedia
REF 370.3 W893

Gender and Education: An Encyclopedia
REF 370.8203 G285

Encyclopedia of American Education
REF 370.973 Un311e

Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration
REF 371.2003 En194

Encyclopedia of Special Education
REF 371.903 En19

Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities
REF 371.903 T847e

Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education
REF 372.2103 W673e

Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies
REF 375.0003 En19

Encyclopedia of Education Economics & Finance
REF 379.13 En19

Encyclopedia of English Studies and Language Arts
REF 428.007 En19

Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education
REF 510.71 En196

 

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Multicultural Education
REF 370.117 D561

The Education Week Guide to K-12 Terminology
REF 370.3 Ed83

The Greenwood Dictionary of Education
REF 370.3 G856g

Edspeak: A Glossary of Education Terms, Phrases, Buzzwords, and Jargon
REF 370.3 R197e

Facts on File Dictionary of Education
REF 370.321 Sh13f

Dictionary of Special Education and Rehabilitation
REF 371.903 V586d

Handbooks of research and guides

Handbook of Research on Teaching
American Educational Research Association (AERA)
Fifth edition (2016) 

In the library at REF 370.72 H191

Table of Contents

Titles with links are subscription ebooks. Log-in required for off-campus access.

Handbook of Research on Human Performance and Instructional Technology (ebook)

Handbook of Research on Improving Learning and Motivation Through Educational Games : Multidisciplinary Approaches (ebook)

Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts (ebook)

Sample article:  Language Arts Learning in the Middle Grades

Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children (ebook)

International Handbook of Educational Evaluation (ebook)

International Handbook on School Effectiveness and Improvement (ebook)

The Routledge International Handbook of the Sociology of Education (ebook)

Handbook of Psychology:  Educational Psychology (Vol. 7)
REF 150.3 H191

Handbook of Child Psychology
REF 155.4 H191

Handbook of Psychological & Educational Assessment of Children:  Intelligence & Achievement
REF 155.4 R333h

Handbook of Research on Social Studies Teaching and Learning
REF 300.7073 H191

Handbook of Research on Teaching Literacy Through the Communicative and Visual Arts
REF 302.207 H191

Handbook of Educational Psychology
REF 370.15 H191

Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education
REF 370.196 H191

Handbook of Research on Teacher Education
REF 370.71 H191

Handbook of Research on Teaching
REF 370.72 H191

Handbook of Research on Schools, Schooling, and Human Development
REF 370.72 H1915

Handbook of Research on Educational Administration
REF 371.2 H191

Handbook of Research on School Supervision
REF 371.203 H191

Handbook of Research for Educational Communications and Technology
REF 371.33 H191

Handbook of Special and Remedial Education: Research and Practice
REF 371.90973 H191

Handbook of Reading Disability Research
REF 371.9144 H191

Handbook of Learning Disabilities
REF 371.926 H191

International Handbook of Giftedness and Talent
REF 371.95 In854

International Handbook of Early Childhood Education
REF 372.21 In8

Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
REF 372.2107 H191 and online

Handbook of Research on Curriculum
REF 375 J137h

International Handbook of Curriculum Research
REF 375.0072 In854

Handbook of Education Policy Research
REF 379 H191

Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts
REF 428.007 H191 (2003) and online (2011)

Handbook of Reading Research
REF 428.4072 P318h

Handbook of Research on Science Teaching and Learning
REF 507.1 H191

Second Handbook of Research on Mathematics Teaching and Learning
REF 510.71 G918h

The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning: A Project of the Music Educators National Conference 
REF 780.71 N42