Skip to main content Castleton Third Party Header

HIS 3475: Women and Gender in African History: Journals

Resources for the study of the history of women and gender issues in Africa

Top Journals

Research databases

Also see the Research databases tab for access to thousands of journal articles accessible online.

Google Scholar

For additional sources

"From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research."

Google Scholar

To set Google Scholar to link to Castleton's journal holdings:

  1. On the Google Scholar homepage, go into Settings in the upper right-hand corner
  2. Click on Library Links on the left
  3. Search for and click the box for Castleton State College
  4. Click on Save

Or, use Castleton's Journal Holdings List to check for availability.

Locating full-text

To locate the text of an article:

 

In a research database or Castleton OneSearch, look for a link to "HTML Full Text" or "PDF Full Text" or "Full text"

If none of those is available, look for one of these to click:

Full Text Finder or Where can I get this or View Record at ...

On the next screen, look for a link to the article, possibly in another database

If Castleton has the journal in its print collection, pay attention to the date of the article and the date of our holdings, and whether the issue you want is available in print, microfiche, or microfilm.  Ask any library staff or student worker for help locating these.

If full-text isn't available, look for a link to request the item through interlibrary loan

Fill out your information using your Castleton email.  You will get a response by email.

If you have a citation for a periodical article (journal, magazine, or news) and want to locate full-text, search the Journal Titles A-Z list to see if the library has access to the periodical through a database or a print subscription.

If not, use the Journal Article Request Form link from the Interlibrary loans page on the library website to request the full-text through interlibrary loan.

If you make an interlibrary loan request, keep an eye on your Castleton email for the article or a response.

You may get the article the next day, but it could take a week or two. 

Another suggestion for searching for full-text

Google Scholar links to some full-text not available through Castleton's subscriptions. Paste the article title into the Google Scholar search box and look for a link to full-text on the right.

Google Scholar Search