Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

ENG 1061/1070 English Composition/Effective Speaking: Research databases

Getting started with background research for composition and speech topics.

What is a database?

An electronic collection of materials which includes information describing each item that can be searched. Databases search a specific set of information sources, especially periodicals.

Research databases

Suggested subscription databases

These cover a broad range of topics with full-text. Helpful for background information.

Subject-specific databases

Many databases focus on materials specific to a subject or discipline. Below is a selection of databases for some common subjects at Castleton.

Finding full-text

To locate the text of an article:

From a Castleton subscription database:

  • If there is a link that says Full Text or PDF, you can follow that link to view the entire article.
  • If there isn't a Full Text link, look for one that says Full-text finder. That will open a new page with links to the article in other databases. You can also look for information about the journal in the Castleton library's holdings (click on print). In the Castleton library, it might be available in paper form in the periodical collection, or on microfilm or microfiche. Ask for help finding these documents if you need it!
  • If you see Request this item through interlibrary loan, you may click to make the request.

From a citation:

  • Look for the journal your article was published in using the Journal Titles A-Z List to find out if we have print or digital access to it. 
  • If we don't have access, use the library's interlibrary loan system to request the article. Log in with your CU credentials.
    • You may get the article the same day, but it could take up to two or three weeks. It depends on how quickly another library responds. You will be contacted through Castleton email with the article or a response to your request. 

Castleton OneSearch

undefined
Search for articles, books and more...

Castleton OneSearch searches most of the library's purchased or subscription material at once. Don't put a full sentence or question in the search box. Pull out keywords from the concepts of your topic.

Instead of: What kind of cognition does an octopus engage in?

Try just the keywords: cognition octopus

Magazine articles

To find magazine articles only

(excluding newspaper or scholarly journal articles)

In ProQuest Central, choose Advanced Search. Under Source type, scroll down and check the box next to Magazines.

Statistics for the U.S. and states, counties and more

From the U.S. Census Bureau:

Exercise: Magazines vs. Academic journals