Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Castleton Third Party Header

Resources for McNair Students

Have a Citation?

If you have a citation for a book or book chapter:  Look in OneSearch using the title of the book or key words to see if the VSC libraries have a print copy or an ebook version. 

If the book isn't available, Castleton faculty, staff and students can request books through interlibrary loan.  Access the interlibrary loan system here or through the link on the library website.  Sign in, then click on Create Request. Fill in the necessary information.  Look for a response in your Castleton email.

If you have a citation for an article and want to locate the full-text:

 

Search within CU subscription resources

1)  Put the title or important key words into the Castleton OneSearch search box.  If you find the article in your results list, see if full-text is available.  Look for links to HTML or PDF full-text or Open Access Full Text. If there's a link to "Full Text Finder," click on that to be linked to the full-text in another database.  Choose any of the options.

or

2)  Search our Journals Titles A-Z for the title of the journal where the article is published. When you find the journal, click on Full Text Access.  See if the date of the journal your article is in is contained in the full-text holdings in any of the databases listed or in CU print holdings. Locate your article by issue date or by searching within that journal.


If you don't find full-text in CU subscriptions:

3)  Search using the title or important key words in Google or Google Scholar (scholar.google.com).  In Google Scholar, look for an HTML or PDF link in the right column.

4)  If no full-text is available, Castleton faculty, staff and students can request articles through interlibrary loan.  Access the interlibrary loan system here or through the link on the library website.  Sign in, then click on Create Request. Fill in the necessary information.  Look for a response in your Castleton email.

Google Scholar Search

About Google Scholar: "From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."


To set Google Scholar to link to Castleton's journal holdings:

  1. On the Google Scholar homepage, open Settings from the menu at the top left, the three horizontal lines.
  2. Click on Library Links on the left
  3. Search for Castleton and click to add the two boxes for Castleton
  4. Click on Save